The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear Reviews

Page 2 of 93
½ August 13, 2015
There are still some hilarious moments to be found here but unfortunately they're few and far between. There's also some ridiculously stupid shit that goes on but for me I feel some of the best gags are the subtle things going on in the background. Robert Goulet as Quentin Hapsburg is also no Ricardo Montalban as Vincent Ludwig. Nowhere near as good as the original but also not as putridly awful as 33 1/3.
July 26, 2015
Just brilliant. So many giggles from start to finish.
½ June 30, 2015
Great sequel to The Naked Gun is good for teens! Ages 14+
½ June 27, 2015
Definitely not as good as the first. But it still is a lot of fun and has its moments.
½ June 24, 2015
While not as great as the first film, this film is still full of laughs. Drebin is back at his idiotic accident prone antics, and while it's not as good as the first its a solid sequel.
June 17, 2015
It can't match its predecessor for hilarity, but it has enough laughs of its own with a pitch-perfectly clueless performance by Leslie Nielsen.
½ June 5, 2015
Not as good as the first one, but I dare you to find a comedy sequel that is as decent as this one.
½ June 4, 2015
The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear isn't quite up to the original, but it still has some very funny stuff to offer. I think the problem is that the original was a spoof of the cliche that cop meets girl, cop falls in love with girl, etc. Not that the series can't or shouldn't do something different or go in a different direction, but the original felt more honest and not a continuation, which is where this entry goes. O.J. Simpson is also in this one, but is given less to do. He's more of the fall guy but doesn't really get the laughs for that particular position. In all actualality, this felt more like a third sequel rather than a second. The story seems far in advance, as if there's a chapter of the story that we missing. However, these movies aren't really about the story. It's all about the comedy, which is the usual slapstick mixed with witty dialogue. It's a decent follow-up with some very funny jokes, but it doesn't quite contend with its predecessor.
April 23, 2015
BEST.COMEDY.EVER.
The slapstick is good as the original and the plot is sound for a comedy.
Good cast, good acting and Leslie Nielsen at his finest.
½ April 1, 2015
Not in the class of the original but there are many laughs in this slapstick parody.
March 28, 2015
This was way better than I expected. Generally, sequels tend to be not that great, so I was surprised when I actually found myself chuckling in this movie. It doesn't even come close to the original, though. Really, it's just a rehash of the first one, but it does it right. It has clever, humorous lines thrown in there with some good 'ol slapstick. It could have been much, much worse, and I'm grateful that they put this much care into this one. I can forgive it for most of it's flaws because, in the end, all I need from a comedy is for it to make me laugh and have fun. I don't need a intricate plot and complex characters, I just need to laugh, this movie meets those requirements. I say give it a watch. I hope Zuckerburg can keep bringing the laughs in the 3rd movie.
March 4, 2015
Leslie Nielsen is always fun to watch. Love it.
January 21, 2015
Re-Rated. Some of the jokes are hilarious, some don't hold up as well. Probably my least favorite of the 3.
½ January 7, 2015
I can always make time for these films - lighthearted cheese with jokes as corny as a cob of sweetcorn! With no real connection to the first, other than the fact that Frank and Jane had seemingly parted after the events of the original due to his dedication to the force, we now witness a new case as there's apparent corruption in the ranks of the American embassy. In his usual bumbling manner, and littered with one liners, we are again treated to a mass of jokes that are so bad, they're good. For example, when the police raid a porn shop and the large chested woman asks if this is some kind of bust, you get the predictable response of 'well yes, it's very impressive'. I also can't help but chuckle at the gag when Ms Presley describes the assailant as tall, about 6ft, moustache, with the cringeworthy response being 'wow, that's one big moustache'. Awful but legendary given the straight faced manner they are performed in. In all honesty, I don't think the quips are quite as comical as the first film, and I'm not a fan of the slapstick humour quite as much such as when the bowling ball, pool balls and horseshoe continuously fall off the shelf onto a victims head, but there are enough verbal jokes and spoof references to keep us amused with a variation of humour. These series are still so much better than what is being produced in modern day and at risk of repeating myself, they simply don't make em like they used to anymore!
December 22, 2014
While not as funny as the first film, this was still very entertaining.
½ December 19, 2014
Plenty of funny moments but I got lost in the details too much to pay attention to the plot.
October 4, 2014
a bit different, but at the same time familiar, but one can't help but feel it was a money grab
October 1, 2014
This is totally better then the first. Nicole. And franks back!!!! I knew the second movie would be better . This movie is funnier than the first by 3 stars, great movie. Awesome!!! Oj simpson is coo coo, crazy, o my god!!!
½ September 19, 2014
There are fewer laughs in this sequel, but you can always count on Nielsen to make these spoof movies entertaining.
September 18, 2014
There are laughs, albiet less than the original.
Page 2 of 93