The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear Reviews

Page 2 of 93
September 24, 2015
A pale comparison to its predecessor, "Naked Gun 2" recycles too heavily from past jokes and plot that makes us wished we watched the first one instead. It basically has nothing to offer. Some jokes are new and fresh, but they get tiring really quick. The whole time I was thinking to myself, "Man, when are they going to tell the good jokes?" They never came.
Super Reviewer
September 23, 2015
No review last night because I didn't finish watching the movie I started watching the day before yesterday, Down and Out in Beverly Hills, the next review. So, I went back to another of the beloved films of my youth. I already went on this tangent with my last review, how I loved Leslie Nielsen and the Naked Gun trilogy as a child. Sadly, though, this sequel didn't hold up as well as the third one did. Though I would still say that this is a considerably better movie than the third one. I just think that the film is fresher and there's not as much wear and tear from it being the third film in a series that has, literally, been all about the sight gags, the slapstick and silliness. The more you rely on shtick the harder it gets in the long run to maintain a high quality of jokes. If you doubt this, then just look at a series like Family Guy and then get back to me. With that said, however, while the film may not have held up as well as Top Secret, another Zucker/Abraham/Zucker production, it's still a lot of fun to watch. There's a lot of funny gags and a slapstick in the film. Going over them would simply be pointless because there's so many of them and they wouldn't make sense out of context, but, again, if you have any knowledge of the Naked Gun trilogy then you would know pretty much exactly what to expect. I don't think this is bound to be a long review simply because of the fact that I can't go into the actual content of the film itself, there's simply so much stuff thrown out there that this would be the longest review I've ever done if I decided to actually run down the film. And I've written some pretty long and rambling reviews on here, so you can imagine how long it'd be. Anyway, the point is that this is a good film. It's a blast to watch, even if it doesn't hold up as well in the 24 years since its release. Good stuff and I'd still easily recommend it as a Netflix watch.
½ September 11, 2015
At times, the sequel to one of the best comedies ever made reaches the heights of the original, but generally, it falls short of those highs. Not nearly as funny or quotable, the film fails to be as good as its predecessor. However, it is still hilarious and incredibly quotable, which certainly helps matters. Though the plot is pretty dumb, Leslie Nielsen is still the man and the film really works as intended, which is all you can ask. A fun film from beginning to end.
½ August 23, 2015
just as ridiculous as the first
½ August 13, 2015
There are still some hilarious moments to be found here but unfortunately they're few and far between. There's also some ridiculously stupid shit that goes on but for me I feel some of the best gags are the subtle things going on in the background. Robert Goulet as Quentin Hapsburg is also no Ricardo Montalban as Vincent Ludwig. Nowhere near as good as the original but also not as putridly awful as 33 1/3.
July 26, 2015
Just brilliant. So many giggles from start to finish.
½ June 30, 2015
Great sequel to The Naked Gun is good for teens! Ages 14+
½ June 27, 2015
Definitely not as good as the first. But it still is a lot of fun and has its moments.
½ June 24, 2015
While not as great as the first film, this film is still full of laughs. Drebin is back at his idiotic accident prone antics, and while it's not as good as the first its a solid sequel.
June 17, 2015
It can't match its predecessor for hilarity, but it has enough laughs of its own with a pitch-perfectly clueless performance by Leslie Nielsen.
½ June 5, 2015
Not as good as the first one, but I dare you to find a comedy sequel that is as decent as this one.
April 23, 2015
BEST.COMEDY.EVER.
The slapstick is good as the original and the plot is sound for a comedy.
Good cast, good acting and Leslie Nielsen at his finest.
½ April 1, 2015
Not in the class of the original but there are many laughs in this slapstick parody.
March 28, 2015
This was way better than I expected. Generally, sequels tend to be not that great, so I was surprised when I actually found myself chuckling in this movie. It doesn't even come close to the original, though. Really, it's just a rehash of the first one, but it does it right. It has clever, humorous lines thrown in there with some good 'ol slapstick. It could have been much, much worse, and I'm grateful that they put this much care into this one. I can forgive it for most of it's flaws because, in the end, all I need from a comedy is for it to make me laugh and have fun. I don't need a intricate plot and complex characters, I just need to laugh, this movie meets those requirements. I say give it a watch. I hope Zuckerburg can keep bringing the laughs in the 3rd movie.
March 4, 2015
Leslie Nielsen is always fun to watch. Love it.
January 21, 2015
Re-Rated. Some of the jokes are hilarious, some don't hold up as well. Probably my least favorite of the 3.
½ January 7, 2015
I can always make time for these films - lighthearted cheese with jokes as corny as a cob of sweetcorn! With no real connection to the first, other than the fact that Frank and Jane had seemingly parted after the events of the original due to his dedication to the force, we now witness a new case as there's apparent corruption in the ranks of the American embassy. In his usual bumbling manner, and littered with one liners, we are again treated to a mass of jokes that are so bad, they're good. For example, when the police raid a porn shop and the large chested woman asks if this is some kind of bust, you get the predictable response of 'well yes, it's very impressive'. I also can't help but chuckle at the gag when Ms Presley describes the assailant as tall, about 6ft, moustache, with the cringeworthy response being 'wow, that's one big moustache'. Awful but legendary given the straight faced manner they are performed in. In all honesty, I don't think the quips are quite as comical as the first film, and I'm not a fan of the slapstick humour quite as much such as when the bowling ball, pool balls and horseshoe continuously fall off the shelf onto a victims head, but there are enough verbal jokes and spoof references to keep us amused with a variation of humour. These series are still so much better than what is being produced in modern day and at risk of repeating myself, they simply don't make em like they used to anymore!
December 22, 2014
While not as funny as the first film, this was still very entertaining.
½ December 19, 2014
Plenty of funny moments but I got lost in the details too much to pay attention to the plot.
October 4, 2014
a bit different, but at the same time familiar, but one can't help but feel it was a money grab
Page 2 of 93