Before the Fall (Napola) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Before the Fall (Napola) Reviews

Page 1 of 12
October 12, 2018
Too obvious, but still fascinating.
May 27, 2018
The best movie in the world ;)
February 26, 2017
Napola ???????????????????
½ April 17, 2014
The straightforwardness of the film may not be pleasing for some critics, but it is per se the key to the emotional resonance at the end, of which lingers long in our mind.
March 22, 2014
-- One of the best German movies I've seen --

This high quality German movie - who's original title is "Napola - Elite fr den Fhrer" - is an absolute gem (made in 2004). It is not an action movie, but first and foremost a mesmerizing, albeit tragic, story about the friendship of two teenage boys in the Third Reich.

It tells the story of the poor 16 year old boy Friedrich, who on the basis of his boxing talent, is, in the year 1942, admitted to one of Hitler's elite schools Napola (short for Nationalpolitischen Erziehungsanstalten). Friedrich considers this his chance to succeed in life.

At Napola Friedrich befriends Albrecht (played by Tom Schilling), the son of a Gauleiter (high ranking Nazi party leader). Albrecht is literary minded, and his father considers him weak. It is Albrecht who stirs doubt, in Friedrich's mind, about the Nazi cause.

The viewer is introduced to the Nazi-brainwashing of young "elite" Germans, and we learn what happens to those who can't cope with the physical and mental pressure.

The acting by Max Riemelt (Friedrich) and Tom Schilling (Albrecht) is superb. My only complaint with the script is Friedrich's flawed boxing talent; he is, at times, unable to finish off his opponents, which basically makes him a hopeless boxer.

The movie is directed by the German movie director Dennis Gansel (born in 1973). He has produced quite a number of movies, among them "Die Welle in 2008 (e. The Wave) and the vampire movie "We Are The Night" (2012).
November 16, 2013
This is subtle retelling of history at its most insipid. "Ve veren't all bad during ze war you know", you can hear the director saying. That it wasn't all tea and picnics in SS training camps is of no interest to the world at large, only to surviving death squad members. I was cheering when the bedwetter jumped on the grenade to protect the others. At least that's one less I thought. If they were indeed all such sensitive souls at the training schools, how come they were all complete bastards once released onto the world?
September 19, 2013
This is a powerful film with excellent performances from its young cast - some moving and nuanced work which adds to the overall impression of the destruction and corruption of youth. The story it tells is, perhaps, not so well known to many but the message and the construction are meaningful and integrated. Some reviews mention that there is some predictability about the plot......maybe, but only maybe.....it is overall a film that makes an impact, a film that shows far more than just the literal and film that will perhaps have a particular resonance with young people. There are some less unexpected aspects of the film and some moving scenes. It works on a number of levels, and looking into the eyes of Frederich and Albrecht reveal the conflict, the compromise, the sacrifice, the hope and eventually the doom of their society. Recommended.
½ April 20, 2013
Nearly every point made in Before the Fall, be it about militarism or the secret sexual codes of fascism, is made too obviously, or has been made before, in films from Cabaret to Europa, Europa.
January 17, 2013
One of the best movies I've seen.
½ December 29, 2012
Marvelous! A bit short of "legendary"
December 20, 2012
A great movie to show how the Nazis brainwashed their youth until they started to think for themselves...
December 1, 2012
i knew di other side of Nazi dat ive never seen...
½ September 30, 2012
YIR! Anden verdenskrig! Og en film jeg ikke havde set fr. WINNING!!! N, men den her film var ret s unik. Kan ikke lige sige hvilken anden film fra den periode den mindede om, og det er noget af et mesterstykke, eftersom jeg har set omkring 9914 film omkring anden verdenskrig. Filmen manglede det sidste for at vre helt perfekt, men af en tysk film at vre, s var den absolut i top! Kan KUN anbefales!!!
September 8, 2012
I think the protagonist was classified as the Nordic Type 1B, after the "medical examination" of his eye color, hair color, skull length/proportion

I was wondering if "Nordic Type 1A" was somebody with even lighter hair and/or eyes and/or bigger skull (or whatever they measured)

I know it's all pseudoscience, but even so, based on it, I am sure a lot Slavic with extreme light hair and eyes could have achieved the highest, or nearest the highest race classification. Yet, Slavs were treated nearly as bad as the Jews.

Blond & blue eyed Russian POWs were starved to death in the open camps, while dark eyed & dark skinned US POWs were kept in a relative comfort. So, it's seems even the internal logic of Nazi pseudoscience was badly broken.
June 12, 2012
Una correcta pel,­cula, que nos descubre el dato hist,³rico de esas escuelas donde lavaban el cerebro a los j,³venes alemanes. Y que ponde su granito de arena a la hora de denunciar un vergonzoso fanatismo, que forma parte del pasado de una naci,³n.
½ May 28, 2012
"Before the Fall" exposes the rottenness inside the Third Reich's recruitment techniques of their young elites: that beneath all those facade of becoming the best "Aryan" soldier, the top officials wouldn't hesitate for a second to sacrifice their morality, ideals, or even their lives. Hence, this movie is recommended for history enthusiasts and German movie aficionados alike.
April 18, 2012
Good film, but there should have been more depth to the main character and more boxing and less of the other stuff, such as what I think was some hidden gay feelings between all of the Nazis, at the Nazi elite training school.
½ March 18, 2012
Som Ondskan fast i nazityskland. Lite ostig på slutet, men sevärd.
March 14, 2012
Soldiers and gayness... Sounds like a fun porno!
Page 1 of 12