The Nativity Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Nativity Story Reviews

Page 1 of 7
February 9, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2011
The Bible on the big screen: New take on old tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 10, 2007
If nothing else, it is refreshing to see a Christmas movie that actually has something to do with Christmas!
December 30, 2006
Catherine Hardwicke (Lords of Dogtown, Thirteen) may seem like an unusual choice for a Biblical epic, but she proves an inspired choice, choosing to focus on the authenticity of the story, primarily through Mary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 7, 2006
Perhaps this disappointing movie will inspire an up-and-coming filmmaker to sense the true potential of this story, and to deliver the first great film about the nativity.
Read More | Original Score: C
December 4, 2006
We just haven't had too many films that concentrate on this story.
December 4, 2006
The faithful will be satisfied (if not exactly inspired)...
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
December 3, 2006
The film is made with intelligence, restraint, and it shows proper respect for the story.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 2, 2006
Many moments are overpowering and humbling, thanks to the source material. This is not a great film or an especially good one, but I don't have to remind you where its story ranks among those ever told.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
December 2, 2006
A complete surprise: Joseph comes across in this Biblical drama as a more engrossing and mysterious character than Mary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 1, 2006
With only twenty-four praying days left before Christmas, New Line opts for the filmmaking commandment "Thou Shall Not Seek Controversy."
December 1, 2006
Director Catherine Hardwicke pays attention to details about simple things like clothes, food and activities that make 'The Nativity Story' seem so real.
December 1, 2006
I have to hand it to Hardwicke: I was a lot less bored by The Nativity Story than I feared I'd be.
December 1, 2006
The filmmakers have strived to tell their tale, which is part Scripture and part imagined, with the simplicity and sincerity of a Sunday school lesson, and, as far as I can see, it does not veer from tradition in a way that is likely to offend anyone.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 1, 2006
One of the incidental points of the film, particularly powerful, is that doing the right thing isn't easy, even in the face of divine assurance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 1, 2006
How moved you are by this holiday fare depends, beyond basic human empathy, on your piety (or nostalgia for childhood readings and Nativity plays).
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 1, 2006
An engrossing, thoughtful and artistic motion picture that can be enjoyed by anyone who appreciates potent drama in an exotic location and time.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
December 1, 2006
Yes, there is something about Mary. Something inspiring. Something hopeful.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
December 1, 2006
There is none of the anti-clerical, anti-establishment fury of Gibson's film; in their place is a simplicity and humble awe that has a very different appeal.
December 1, 2006
This is the movie Mel Gibson should have made, a simple tale simply titled and sweetly told.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 7