The Nature of Existence - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Nature of Existence Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 3, 2010
A journey that prizes intellectual search over simplistic solutions, and if you come to it with a similar attitude you should enjoy ambling along.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 23, 2010
Freewheeling and funny.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
July 8, 2010
A fascinating film that shows us just how crazy we are for even trying to answer the big questions.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 6, 2010
While it will strike some as smug and others as sincere, pic certainly has a feel-good tone and playful attitude.
July 2, 2010
As a conversation starter ... it's an affable appetizer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 18, 2010
A smart, engrossing, and entertaining crash course in the study of What It All Means.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 18, 2010
His film is no more profound than its forerunners, but it's quicker, funnier and less pretentious.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 18, 2010
An enlightening, provocative and captivating spiritual journey well worth taking.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.35/10
June 17, 2010
A genial, low-impact collection of thoughtful sound bites on all the big stuff.
June 16, 2010
Without putting his own impression on his story, Nygard has made The Nature of Existence both a broad, far-reaching exploration of the concept of existence and an affirmation of the individual possession of belief.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 19, 2010
Humorously spritual journey which should lead to an interesting discussion after the closing credits.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 13, 2010
Sort of a "Whitman's Sampler" of religious, metaphysical, and philosophical beliefs and opinions from all over the world.
Full Review| Original Score: 8/10
May 10, 2010
Nygard has done a terrific job of asking questions, getting answers and finding interesting people to appear in this film.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 23, 2009
I didn't learn anything, but I sure had a good time laughing at the subject, which made it all worthwhile.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2010
After 90 minutes of scattershot quips, I felt like I was wearing spiritual beer goggles.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 16, 2010
Certainly there are filmgoers who enjoy this kind of noncommittal metaphysical quest. I am not one of them. It makes me think that the filmmaker is more interested in showing us his vacation slides instead of sharing any real insights.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 10, 2010
It's overly, apologetically polite in its efforts to cover all the bases.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 6, 2010
Inquiring into the reasons human beings exist, filmmaker Roger Nygard uncovers this stunner: Various people have different opinions.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 30, 2010
The problem is that Nygard is not a showman (like Moore) and the journey quickly loses its appeal.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 17, 2010
Engaging but ironically lightweight, The Nature of Existence offers differing views about The Meaning of Life.
Page 1 of 2