The Nature of Existence - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Nature of Existence Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 16, 2010
Nygard's mildly insipid, occasionally condescending tone makes you long for the bombast of early Michael Moore.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 16, 2010
The Nature of Existence was bound to fall short of its deliberately and ridiculously broad title anyway, but one still wishes for more.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 15, 2010
There's something a tad disingenuous about the director's quest for meaning, as if the whole arc of the project has been contrived to adhere to a scripted template rather than to document a genuine search.
July 6, 2010
Inquiring into the reasons human beings exist, filmmaker Roger Nygard uncovers this stunner: Various people have different opinions.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 10, 2010
It's overly, apologetically polite in its efforts to cover all the bases.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 30, 2010
The problem is that Nygard is not a showman (like Moore) and the journey quickly loses its appeal.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 17, 2010
Engaging but ironically lightweight, The Nature of Existence offers differing views about The Meaning of Life.
July 16, 2010
Certainly there are filmgoers who enjoy this kind of noncommittal metaphysical quest. I am not one of them. It makes me think that the filmmaker is more interested in showing us his vacation slides instead of sharing any real insights.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 30, 2010
After 90 minutes of scattershot quips, I felt like I was wearing spiritual beer goggles.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 18, 2010
His film is no more profound than its forerunners, but it's quicker, funnier and less pretentious.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 18, 2010
An enlightening, provocative and captivating spiritual journey well worth taking.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.35/10
May 13, 2010
Sort of a "Whitman's Sampler" of religious, metaphysical, and philosophical beliefs and opinions from all over the world.
Full Review| Original Score: 8/10
May 19, 2010
Humorously spritual journey which should lead to an interesting discussion after the closing credits.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 8, 2010
A fascinating film that shows us just how crazy we are for even trying to answer the big questions.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 6, 2010
While it will strike some as smug and others as sincere, pic certainly has a feel-good tone and playful attitude.
July 2, 2010
As a conversation starter ... it's an affable appetizer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 16, 2010
Without putting his own impression on his story, Nygard has made The Nature of Existence both a broad, far-reaching exploration of the concept of existence and an affirmation of the individual possession of belief.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 17, 2010
A genial, low-impact collection of thoughtful sound bites on all the big stuff.
March 23, 2009
I didn't learn anything, but I sure had a good time laughing at the subject, which made it all worthwhile.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 10, 2010
Nygard has done a terrific job of asking questions, getting answers and finding interesting people to appear in this film.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Page 1 of 2