Nebraska - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nebraska Reviews

Page 1 of 12
February 25, 2014
It's funnier than some of the comedies I saw in 2013 but I prefer Payne's films when they're tragic and sad too.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 15, 2013
Anywhere else but in this movie, Woody's quest would evidence a high level of dementia. "Nebraska" is far too precious to entertain that notion.
May 23, 2013
Payne can't seem to decide if he's coddling these old-school Midwesterners for their rudely rustic values or sneering at the sheer narrowness of their worldview.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
November 14, 2013
As an ode to fading small towns, and to the state its director once called home, it feels downright disingenuous.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 14, 2013
Though it features some good laughs and decent performances, the movie never really goes anywhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 8, 2013
A tangle of film school clichés, rampant condescension and woe-is-me, middle-aged-white-guy-problems so juvenile it would blot even a first-time filmmaker's copybook.
November 21, 2013
Great work by Dern, but I don't understand the director's need to denigrate Midwestern and/or lower-class people, and depict them as a tribe of slack-jawed morons.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 29, 2013
These people are mostly meat-and-potatoes, what-you-see-is-what-you-get, and Payne and screenwriter Bob Nelson frequently portray their Midwestern brethren with disdain and a lack of compassion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 27, 2013
It is very, very clear from the evidence of the film that Payne loves Nebraska. It's Nebraskans that he apparently has a problem with.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
July 14, 2015
I got angrier at Nebraska the longer it trudged on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 5, 2013
Think of David Lynch's The Straight Story and subtract colour and élan.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 11, 2013
A sad, undeniably thoughtful depiction of midwestern eccentrics regretting the past and growing bored of the present -- ideas that Payne regards with gentle humor and pathos but also something of a shrug.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 12, 2014
I am wearying of Payne's world view. I am beginning to wonder if he is capable of embracing anybody or anything with the sort of depth of feeling that real art demands.
Full Review | Original Score: 56/100
May 24, 2013
There's little heart in Payne's heartland.
May 23, 2013
A rank exercise in hicksploitation sentimentalism.
May 12, 2015
Everything about Nebraska feels secondhand. It's a gimmicky sitcom script gussied up with 'artful' affectations borrowed from the New Hollywood heyday of the early '70s.
November 22, 2013
These are not the kind of people you want to spend any time around, so why would you want to sit through a two hour film about them?
May 22, 2014
Nebraska, despite a few pleasures, strikes me as Payne's most cartoonish, one-dimensional work.
December 10, 2013
Tis the season of misanthropic condescension. First "Inside Lleywn Davis" and now this hateful mess.
December 11, 2013
Payne just doesn't make bad movies. Until now.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 12