Nenette and Boni (Nťnette et Boni) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nenette and Boni (Nťnette et Boni) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ April 30, 2011
interesting coming of age tale edgy & gritty
October 24, 2010
Denis inszeniert so leichtf√ 1/4√ig wie selten, und verbirgt im Kern dieses luftigen, farbenfrohen Films ein gewaltsames inzestu√∂ses Drama - ohne es auch nur mit einem Wort konkret werden zu lassen und so an die Oberfl√§che der Erz√§hlung zu holen. Zwar ist N√NETTE ET BONI gleichwohl ein √ 1/4berraschend geradliniger Film - im Rahmen von Denis' Werk -, aber die wunderbar unkonzentrierte, schweifende Erz√§hlung l√§sst in keinem Moment Zweifel daran, dass es noch unz√§hlige andere Geschichten g√§be, die ebenso gut erz√§hlt werden k√∂nnten.
Super Reviewer
August 10, 2010
Unusual, dreamy, and immersive. Claire Denis keeps a grip on the audience's senses while venturing into edgy subject material. The performances are naturalistic and powerful, and the music by Tindersticks underlines the overall tone of the film. A beautiful, surprising, compelling film.
½ March 11, 2010
THe scene where the pregnant teen is looking at her belly under the covers and sees or at least imagines it bulge where the baby is kicking is so good. There are some other good scenes here too and it's funny that everyone pretty much stays unlikeable like they would in real life but you kinda like them anyway. It's an accomplishment. Also you'll never look at pizza dough the same way again.
½ March 9, 2010
A simple tale of domestic dysfunction and coming-of-age, but done Claire Denis style... that is to say, dreamy and impressionistic, full of humour, eroticism and fondness towards its troubled characters, especially the one played wonderfully by Gregoire Colin. Lovely score by Tindersticks, too.
½ September 18, 2009
I really didn't care for movie whole duration. 85% Flixter users liked it??? So it is just me then?
August 18, 2009
Surreal and beautiful. Really impressed by how Denis is able to get a feel of her characters through evocative images and their actions. The focus on the hands is quite Bressionian.
July 19, 2009
Why 'Nenette et Boni' hasn't enjoyed greater distribution and more widespread recognition I don't know; the film is so wonderfully alive, and it's entirely less obtuse than either 'Beau Travail' or 'L'Intrus' (two other Denis films that attracted more press and saw quicker home-video releases). With 'Nenette et Boni', Claire Denis has made a film that plays like beautiful, sensual music. Though the narrative is slight, Denis gets incredible mileage out of her material, creating an admixture that's at once endearing and thought-provoking.

Some reactions:
As in the later 'L'Intrus', Denis here steadfastly avoids nearly all of the conventional filmic tropes for signaling shifts into unreality, making 'Nenette' seem as oneiric as it is raw and direct. Colin, Tedeschi, and Houri make lovely subjects for Godard's probing, almost autonomous camera; I really got to feeling like no dialogue could create as palpable a sense of intimacy as Godard's lucid images (there's a bit of Bresson in her studied cinematographic touch). Furthermore, the arrangement of the scenes creates surprisingly intense poignancy. Tedeschi and Gallo's romantic sequences for example are all the more touching in the relief of Colin's solipsistic masturbation (Denis makes character absences felt as deeply as presences). And then there's the extraordinary soundtrack. Stuart Staples' score is so well-attuned to the color and lilt of the cinematography, and his moving "Tiny Tears" theme is thankfully not abused -- in fact it's utilized perfectly (this viewer choked up a bit, anyway). Finally, the improbable ending gives the film real character and staying power. The effect is somewhat akin to that achieved by Lindsay Anderson in 'If...', wherein the film becomes intensely reflexive and the deep-seated, anomic impulses of the subjects flower into surreal spectacle. It's somehow both moving and frightening.

I really can't recommend this movie enough. It's certainly the most accessible Denis work I've yet seen, and it's perhaps her most immediately engaging and humanistic study of sensuality. I look forward to making this masterpiece a more "open" secret than it is currently.
½ March 23, 2008
interesting story...
January 29, 2008
One of my all-time favorites. I love all Claire Denis movies, but this one is her masterpiece.
December 26, 2007
I only wish U.S. Go Home was available on DVD.
November 9, 2007
fell in love with grégoire colin
August 18, 2007
claire denis is a master in showing the beauty and importance of small things in everyday life, like the sound of the coffee machine. she describes human relations in a quiet and powerful way and the soundtrack is stunning and fitts perfect in every scene.
August 12, 2007
slow mesmerizing storytelling by Claire Denis. hidden sensuality. a soundtrack by the Tindersticks. Vincent Gallo and Valeria Bruni Tedeschi as supporting cast. one of the first movies i taped on VHS.
the main actors already played siblings in Denis' segment 'US Go Home' two years before. Loved that one as well ..
Page 1 of 1