Never Let Me Go - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Never Let Me Go Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Blake Griffin
We Got This Covered
November 11, 2013
Emotionally stunted at times, Never Let Me Go gets lost in its own melancholy and fails to live up to its potential.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
November 5, 2013
a beautifully acted and heartbreaking story of young love, but it opens up more thoughts that just from that angle of storytelling
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Roger Moore
Movie Nation
January 27, 2013
Melancholy, poignant and chilling
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Leonard Maltin
Leonard Maltin's Picks
August 19, 2011
I came to this film knowing nothing about it, except that it was based on the highly-acclaimed novel by Kazuo Ishiguru. I had no foreknowledge of its story or premise-and I'm glad...
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
August 15, 2011
Melancholy and futility define this subtle future-set drama about three children who grow up knowing that they'll never own themselves or their own bodies.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Simon Miraudo
April 4, 2011
Although [the] film adaptation does indeed fall short of the brilliance of the source material (and will likely distance viewers even more than the book ever did), it manages to convey the novel's most important themes, and most affecting moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dave White
April 4, 2011
Mark Romanek manages to make that very real(ish) world look and feel totally alien and hermetically sealed, a gray/blue/green/brown tragedy terrarium that both perfectly colorless and incredibly, inescapably sad.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
April 1, 2011
It's also a film which affirms what is valuable about life. I think this film is a must-see.
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
April 1, 2011
Though often moving at a glacial pace, this mood piece -- aptly described as a refined romantic drama with a cerebral sci-fi twist -- rarely stays in the same place for long.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Evan Williams
The Australian
April 1, 2011
We are rewarded with many scenes of poignant beauty and touching performances in the central roles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
March 31, 2011
Director Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo) gives the slow-burning adult drama a nostalgic, almost lyrical glow where hope and acceptance override any impulse to rebel or even question.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
March 30, 2011
Whilst I was intrigued by certain elements, I left the theatre with a feeling of disappointment. It was like I hadn't seen the whole story.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
March 30, 2011
As a triangular love story, this doesn't really soar either, despite good performances from a hip young cast, and the end result is that a story that should have been terribly affecting, isn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Paul Byrnes
Sydney Morning Herald
March 30, 2011
Real men will see this and weep, as I did. It is one of the most moving and profound films in a long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
CJ Johnson
ABC Radio (Australia)
March 30, 2011
It is a downer -- a heavy downer -- there's absolutely no denying that. I recommend it highly, but not if you're looking at something light to cheer you up.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Annette Basile
FILMINK (Australia)
March 30, 2011
Driven by terrific lead performances, this achingly beautiful work challenges audiences emotionally and intellectually.
Nick Dent
Sunday Mail (Australia)
March 30, 2011
While it's not exactly uplifting, this touching tale effectively tackles confronting questions for mankind with nothing but grace.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Clem Bastow
The Vine
March 30, 2011
Never Let Me Go offers an awful, enduring insight into what it must be like to have your entire being dismissed as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Glenn Dunks
March 30, 2011
Never Let Me Go is such a curiously muted viewing experience. Everything is there for a three-tissue weepie, but it never quite comes together.
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
March 25, 2011
It's a subtle film of nuances, played out as an emotional journey of three people in not a future setting but the reinvented recent past.
Page 1 of 9