Never Let Me Go - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Never Let Me Go Reviews

Page 1 of 9
August 29, 2017
It is gorgeous and sad.
August 8, 2017
What makes this film so haunting is not simply its frightening take on our near future (treating as if it's the recent past): it's also in the film's gorgeous photography and dreamy music.
November 5, 2013
a beautifully acted and heartbreaking story of young love, but it opens up more thoughts that just from that angle of storytelling
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 27, 2013
Melancholy, poignant and chilling
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 14, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 19, 2011
I came to this film knowing nothing about it, except that it was based on the highly-acclaimed novel by Kazuo Ishiguru. I had no foreknowledge of its story or premise-and I'm glad...
August 15, 2011
Melancholy and futility define this subtle future-set drama about three children who grow up knowing that they'll never own themselves or their own bodies.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 4, 2011
Although [the] film adaptation does indeed fall short of the brilliance of the source material (and will likely distance viewers even more than the book ever did), it manages to convey the novel's most important themes, and most affecting moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 4, 2011
Mark Romanek manages to make that very real(ish) world look and feel totally alien and hermetically sealed, a gray/blue/green/brown tragedy terrarium that both perfectly colorless and incredibly, inescapably sad.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 1, 2011
It's also a film which affirms what is valuable about life. I think this film is a must-see.
April 1, 2011
Though often moving at a glacial pace, this mood piece -- aptly described as a refined romantic drama with a cerebral sci-fi twist -- rarely stays in the same place for long.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 1, 2011
We are rewarded with many scenes of poignant beauty and touching performances in the central roles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 31, 2011
Director Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo) gives the slow-burning adult drama a nostalgic, almost lyrical glow where hope and acceptance override any impulse to rebel or even question.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 30, 2011
Real men will see this and weep, as I did. It is one of the most moving and profound films in a long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 30, 2011
It is a downer -- a heavy downer -- there's absolutely no denying that. I recommend it highly, but not if you're looking at something light to cheer you up.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 30, 2011
Driven by terrific lead performances, this achingly beautiful work challenges audiences emotionally and intellectually.
March 30, 2011
While it's not exactly uplifting, this touching tale effectively tackles confronting questions for mankind with nothing but grace.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 30, 2011
Never Let Me Go offers an awful, enduring insight into what it must be like to have your entire being dismissed as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 25, 2011
It's a subtle film of nuances, played out as an emotional journey of three people in not a future setting but the reinvented recent past.
March 25, 2011
A sobering film
Page 1 of 9