Never Let Me Go - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Never Let Me Go Reviews

Page 1 of 9
September 8, 2017
The script could have done better to translate the concept. It works as a big picture concept, but doesn't get the treatment it deserves here.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 11, 2013
Emotionally stunted at times, Never Let Me Go gets lost in its own melancholy and fails to live up to its potential.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 30, 2011
Whilst I was intrigued by certain elements, I left the theatre with a feeling of disappointment. It was like I hadn't seen the whole story.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 24, 2010
While it's true that the material does demand restraint, there's too much of it here. But there's a hot, slow-burning fire missing that needs to be present, particularly when the stakes are this high.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.8/10
March 30, 2011
Never Let Me Go is such a curiously muted viewing experience. Everything is there for a three-tissue weepie, but it never quite comes together.
September 14, 2010
Never Let Me Go would drift from memory if it weren't for Mulligan's face of loss, hope, and aggrieved empathy -- a look that's hard to let go.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
February 14, 2011
Daft and dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 1, 2010
Romanek's cast is up to the task, but Ishiguro's hybrid of science fiction and coming-of-age drama is less than enchanting.
September 22, 2010
Dreamily photographed, oddly muted...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 16, 2010
Hamstrung by a serious bummer of a premise that suffocates the production and leaves it too wrapped up in its self-perceived grand, conceptual significance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 14, 2010
Some people may appreciate its original take on a not particularly original premise ... others are likely to find it too tedious and depressing to put much thought into what the filmmakers were trying to accomplish.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
September 25, 2010
Never Let Me Go settles for the worst of two genres - the dreary arthouse film and the sci-fi feature.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 15, 2010
The film's conceit begins to crumble under the weight of unpersuasive details.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 30, 2011
As a triangular love story, this doesn't really soar either, despite good performances from a hip young cast, and the end result is that a story that should have been terribly affecting, isn't.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
October 3, 2010
Takes a scintilla of an interesting premise and blows it, thanks to lackluster storytelling, unimpressive performances and numerous plot holes, including one so humongous that it's quite possibly larger than the movie itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
February 9, 2011
Pretty, empty, and immediately forgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 25, 2010
The majority of Never Let Me Go focuses on the love triangle, to snoozy effect.
September 15, 2010
Everything is in its place, including the overly tidied-up meaning.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 27, 2010
Mulligan is brilliant again but this chilly, sci-fi love story gets mired in tedium and frustrates with lots of unanswered questions-probably by design.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 29, 2010
Lots and lots of extremely classy tastefulness that leaves the film not just restrained, but practically mummified.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Page 1 of 9