Never Let Me Go - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Never Let Me Go Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Blake Griffin
We Got This Covered
November 11, 2013
Emotionally stunted at times, Never Let Me Go gets lost in its own melancholy and fails to live up to its potential.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
March 30, 2011
Whilst I was intrigued by certain elements, I left the theatre with a feeling of disappointment. It was like I hadn't seen the whole story.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 24, 2010
While it's true that the material does demand restraint, there's too much of it here. But there's a hot, slow-burning fire missing that needs to be present, particularly when the stakes are this high.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.8/10
Glenn Dunks
March 30, 2011
Never Let Me Go is such a curiously muted viewing experience. Everything is there for a three-tissue weepie, but it never quite comes together.
Eric Hynes
September 14, 2010
Never Let Me Go would drift from memory if it weren't for Mulligan's face of loss, hope, and aggrieved empathy -- a look that's hard to let go.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express (UK)
February 14, 2011
Daft and dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
October 1, 2010
Romanek's cast is up to the task, but Ishiguro's hybrid of science fiction and coming-of-age drama is less than enchanting.
Brett Michel
Boston Phoenix
September 22, 2010
Dreamily photographed, oddly muted...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Robert Levin
Critic's Notebook
September 16, 2010
Hamstrung by a serious bummer of a premise that suffocates the production and leaves it too wrapped up in its self-perceived grand, conceptual significance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Edward Douglas
September 14, 2010
Some people may appreciate its original take on a not particularly original premise ... others are likely to find it too tedious and depressing to put much thought into what the filmmakers were trying to accomplish.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Christian Toto
What Would Toto Watch?
September 25, 2010
Never Let Me Go settles for the worst of two genres - the dreary arthouse film and the sci-fi feature.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
September 15, 2010
The film's conceit begins to crumble under the weight of unpersuasive details.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
March 30, 2011
As a triangular love story, this doesn't really soar either, despite good performances from a hip young cast, and the end result is that a story that should have been terribly affecting, isn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Stephen Silver
The Trend
October 3, 2010
Takes a scintilla of an interesting premise and blows it, thanks to lackluster storytelling, unimpressive performances and numerous plot holes, including one so humongous that it's quite possibly larger than the movie itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Tom Huddleston
Time Out
February 9, 2011
Pretty, empty, and immediately forgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tricia Olszewski
Washington City Paper
September 25, 2010
The majority of Never Let Me Go focuses on the love triangle, to snoozy effect.
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
September 15, 2010
Everything is in its place, including the overly tidied-up meaning.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
December 27, 2010
Mulligan is brilliant again but this chilly, sci-fi love story gets mired in tedium and frustrates with lots of unanswered questions-probably by design.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
September 29, 2010
Lots and lots of extremely classy tastefulness that leaves the film not just restrained, but practically mummified.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Ellen E Jones
Total Film
January 31, 2011
The pupils' failure to question their fate plays more like lethargy than tragically repressed emotion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 9