Never Let Me Go - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Never Let Me Go Reviews

February 9, 2011
Pretty, empty, and immediately forgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 8, 2010
Never Let Me Go is gorgeous. And depressing. It's exquisitely acted. And depressing. It's romantic, profound and superbly crafted, shot with the self-contained radiance of a snow globe. And it's depressing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 8, 2010
Oddly cold and detached, as if director Mark Romanek and screenwriter Alex Garland couldn't decide precisely how to interpret Kazuo Ishiguro's popular novel and so they just laid it out flat. And flat it feels.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 7, 2010
Never Let Me Go, director Mark Romanek's introspective adaptation of Kazuo Ishiguro's novel, is a work of subtle beauty -- a melancholy meditation on the finality of life and the choices we make as our time shortens.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 1, 2010
Never Let Me Go is strangely moving and mournful, but I wish more had been made of the beauty these people are relinquishing, if only as a counterweight to all that artful drear.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 24, 2010
The emotional impact creeps up on the reader only gradually. Then, bam, it hits forcefully, memorably, and, yes, never lets us go.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 24, 2010
The theme of Ishiguro's novel -- that we all construct delicate fictions to mask the dehumanization of modern life -- proves so elusive onscreen that by the last scene it has to be spelled out in a clumsy, didactic voice-over.
September 24, 2010
The combination of social anguish and dark chill in Never Let Me Go packs a quietly devastating punch.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 24, 2010
It may rob the film of drama, but Romanek has erred on the side of quality, crafting a beautifully cast and artfully rendered allegory of lost youth and trampled innocence.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 23, 2010
Never Let Me Go is a touching, thoughtful, sublimely acted prestige drama based on a fantasy premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 23, 2010
Never Let Me Go is sci-fi for the Belle & Sebastian set.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 23, 2010
Never Let Me Go could have been assembled from the Merchant-Ivory kit. It's stale with suppressed anguish.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 23, 2010
The film is a success. It works. Greatness eludes it, yes. But greatness eludes almost every film adaptation of a major novel, which we must remember when confronted by a good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 23, 2010
Never Let Me Go would have made a serious error in ramping up contrived melodrama toward some sort of science-fiction showdown. This is a movie about empathy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 23, 2010
I felt more connection to, and sympathy for, these characters in their far-fetched situation than I've felt for a lot of "normal" fictional people lately.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 22, 2010
Romanek, a highly respected music video director making his follow-up to One Hour Photo, has crafted a motion picture that is as visually impressive as it is emotionally distant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 20, 2010
The movie is a zombie art picture. And nothing in it takes hold of us emotionally.
September 17, 2010
Romanek does so many difficult things beautifully in this movie, which richly deserves the Oscar consideration it will surely receive.
September 17, 2010
For its delicate tone, provocative themes, impeccable craftsmanship and superb performances -- by Carey Mulligan, Andrew Garfield and Keira Knightley -- Never Let Me Go earned my great admiration.
September 17, 2010
Romanek does an extraordinary job translating Ishiguro's deliberate, almost excruciating pace onto the big screen: His images haunt us in much the same way the author's words do.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 16, 2010
It unfolds with the beautiful poisoned grace of a viper readying to strike. ... it haunts and hurts in equal measure.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 16, 2010
The movie is uneven, largely because it's trying something unusual and ambitious. But that unusual ambition also makes it deeply moving.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 16, 2010
Here's a movie you can't get out of your head, a sci-fi horror story with the seductive allure of a classic romance.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 16, 2010
Science fiction movies don't come much more ponderous than the beautifully filmed Never Let Me Go, which reduces the debate over genetic engineering to a mild, moist romantic soap opera.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 15, 2010
It's a very tony fantasy of class oppression and fascist medical exploitation (themes that may speak louder in England), but it's a lyrically inert movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 15, 2010
Philosophically provocative and achingly sad, Never Let Me Go manages to touch the mind and the heart at once, and with equal measure.
September 15, 2010
Everything is in its place, including the overly tidied-up meaning.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 15, 2010
Ishiguro's book was an unconvincing blend of repressed romance and speculative fiction, with superficial too-polite prose and a clunky approach to narrative secrecy that wouldn't fool the gang on Scooby-Doo.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 14, 2010
This is a moving and provocative film that initially unsettles, then disturbs and finally haunts you well into the night.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 14, 2010
While the movie doesn't stoop to synopsizing its source material, we need some explanation why these kids aren't in a car and on the lam.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 14, 2010
Pervaded by a cosmic wistfulness, the movie Never Let Me Go is melancholy where the novel is haunting.
September 11, 2010
The movie works beautifully even if you know what's coming and knowing it makes the film's strangely beautiful early scenes even more poignant.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 7, 2010
Lugubrious study of the perils of genetic engineering.
September 5, 2010
That rare find, a fragile little four-leaf clover of a movie that's emotionally devastating, yet all too easily trampled by cynics.