New York, I Love You - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

New York, I Love You Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 17, 2013
At its best, it might be said that such a cinematic cacophony approximates the noise of Manhattan itself; but so much seems to be overlapping in this film that a feeling of distraction threatens to dispel the emotion
September 15, 2013
Cinema-goers won't find much to dig their teeth into with this disappointing collection of shorts.
February 10, 2011
How easily you'll weather the film depends on your taste for poetic, obtuse cinema, often without too much of a rhyme or reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 7, 2011
A variety of wry, sentimental, mildly erotic tales that come over as pieces O Henry might have submitted to Playboy.
February 6, 2011
The cinematography and editing is superb and makes up for any shortfalls with some of the stories, but the film's obvious draw will be its stellar ensemble cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 3, 2011
If you've got a heart of treacle, an attention span of 15 minutes and can't afford the air fare then there are worse ways to spend a couple of hours.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 3, 2011
Let's just stay friends.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 3, 2011
This sequel to the superior Paris Je T'Aime is pleasant but inconsequential.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 21, 2010
Is New York I Love You meant to be a love-letter to the Big Apple? As far as I could tell, it was a seething satire about the city's sleazy, vapid, self-involved stereotypes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 7, 2010
In truth, alas, it's the film itself that's short of ideas.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 7, 2010
As with Paris, Je T'Aime (it's from the same producer, Emmanuel Benbihy), the sheer diversity of this portmanteau movie is both a curse and a blessing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 6, 2010
As with Paris, Je T'Aime, New York, I Love You works as both romance film and seductive travelogue, but some will find its 'arty' posturing more maddening than magical.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 15, 2010
Even though each segment is rather wonderful in its own way, as a whole this feels like a side of New York that we've perhaps already seen on screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 27, 2010
Director-ensemble films are never fantastic but New York, I Love You does have a few moments worth savouring.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 17, 2010
If nothing else, it brilliantly captures the moods and tempo of New York: its vibrant pulse, its energy, its ethnic diversity, its clamorous excitement.
May 14, 2010
How can so many good directors -- Fatih Akin and Sheker Kapur among them -- miscalculate here?
May 14, 2010
Some of the actors are fine and some of the scripts buy into one New York cliché of inter-personal relations; a fast-talking, argumentative type of dialogue. Still, they're not going to do much with a line like: "This city is full of surprises, isn't it."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 13, 2010
The spirit of inconsequential whimsy prevails throughout, with recurrent shots of traffic and the New York skyline helping blend different sensibilities into a multinational soup.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
May 13, 2010
It's not hard to get excited about the cinematic potential of a series of short stories about romance set in the most famous city in the world... but the vignettes themselves veer wildly between light charm and severe pretension.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 12, 2010
Most of these roughly eight-minute segments are instantly forgettable, despite the talent involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 5