New York, I Love You - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

New York, I Love You Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 17, 2013
At its best, it might be said that such a cinematic cacophony approximates the noise of Manhattan itself; but so much seems to be overlapping in this film that a feeling of distraction threatens to dispel the emotion
February 10, 2011
How easily you'll weather the film depends on your taste for poetic, obtuse cinema, often without too much of a rhyme or reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 21, 2010
Is New York I Love You meant to be a love-letter to the Big Apple? As far as I could tell, it was a seething satire about the city's sleazy, vapid, self-involved stereotypes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 15, 2013
Cinema-goers won't find much to dig their teeth into with this disappointing collection of shorts.
May 13, 2010
It's not hard to get excited about the cinematic potential of a series of short stories about romance set in the most famous city in the world... but the vignettes themselves veer wildly between light charm and severe pretension.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
October 15, 2009
Inconsistency is the curse of the anthology film, but the entries in the omnibus New York, I Love You are united by their near-total lack of interest.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 20, 2009
how well it holds your attention may depend on your degree of occupation with the titular city (which in this case, isn't really the whole of New York, but mainly the semi-private island of Manhattan)...
Full Review | Original Score: 83/100
October 19, 2009
The film only feels like two or three different sort of approaches are represented. They don't really feel like widely different attacks on the material.
October 15, 2009
What's remarkable here is the consistency of the mediocrity, the uniform fraudulence of the minipremises, the reliable awkwardness of such almost-English lines as "Your eyes would suffice to give tired men hope."
October 11, 2009
If at first you partially succeed, repeat the formula.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 7, 2010
As with Paris, Je T'Aime (it's from the same producer, Emmanuel Benbihy), the sheer diversity of this portmanteau movie is both a curse and a blessing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 10, 2009
Each short ends with thoroughly telegraphed ironic twists. Sometimes the twist is that a star shows up at the end, as if we would be so shocked as to scream "oh my god, it's Christina Ricci!"
October 23, 2009
This wretched mishmash of clichés and lazy scene-setting is as distressing for its lack of curiosity as for its smothering sweetness. It's a criminal waste of time.
February 3, 2011
Let's just stay friends.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 26, 2009
Should have been called New York, I Sorta Kinda Like You but Only as a Friend, Okay?
October 18, 2009
Marginally engaging and sporadically clever, but often rather slight, unimaginative and lacking an authentic vibe of New York City.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.35/10
November 5, 2009
The whole thing stops and restarts itself so often, it feels longer than its 103-minute running time.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 15, 2009
one more cultural artifact lost in translation
| Original Score: 2/5
October 16, 2009
Not every story is cliche, of course, just as not all are bad, but the rotten apples have a tendency to spoil the bunch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 31, 2009
While some of the segments are well constructed, the overall quality is simply uneven, and the transitions between segments sometimes verge on the contrived.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 5