Lo Squartatore di New York (The New York Ripper) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lo Squartatore di New York (The New York Ripper) Reviews

Page 4 of 14
May 13, 2011
Very strong scenes of violence and sex but what do you expect from lucio fulci.The duck voice was hilarious and i was actually surprised by the ending.
½ April 29, 2011
QUAKE-QUAKE-QUAKE goes the Duck stabbing and raping her in a big massive process.

And of course from the all famous...

"ZOMBI 2"
"THE BEYOND"
"CITY OF THE LIVING DEAD"
"HOUSE BY THE CEMETRY"

LUCIO FULCI!!! Comes a Giallo film about Quacking killers that have an erge to rape and molster young girls in the middle of the night...And of course Kill them (If one can add).
But the overuse of a Slasher plot and bad acting kind of ruins the titles Jack the Ripper sounding plot/Okay.
April 25, 2011
It came out two years after the classic "Maniac" .. this is one of the most representative Italian horror school films! Apart from other Fulci films with zombies and stuff like that , what we have here is a good slasher movie!
½ April 24, 2011
WTF? is all I can say about this movie.
Super Reviewer
½ April 14, 2011
A complete suprise to me - having seen Zombie and other Fulci films, with his stereotypical gore and inventive killings (usually at the hands of zombies of some type), Fulci moves completely away from any supernatural tone, to a downtrodden New York in modern-day America. A killer is on the loose, viciously murdering attractive young women. The difference that struck me with this particular film was immediate - the deaths are so much more realistic and cruel. The camera lingering over every explicit detail. Fulci seems to have set out to combine horror with thriller in this flick, and has done so on almost every level - the horror, however, mostly comes from the extremely realistic feel that this movie has and the downbeaten locations where everything occurs. The vicious murders seem all the more believable as a result.

I'd read many reviews for this film before finally watching it (in the UK, this film has an almost legendary cult-status; the BBFC actually had the film reels police-escorted out of the country when it was originally sent to them for certification in 1982), but don't necessarily agree with the way everyone mocks the killer's duck-like voice when talking to the police; if anything, it comes across as macabre and there is a reason for it, from a psychological perspective, revealed at the end. Oh yes - the final killing of the cop's girlfriend/prostitute - is every bit as nasty and prolonged as you've heard; the razor being dragged across her open eye and through her nipple, being slashed continually and slowly to ribbons, is just plain mean!

For me this is by far Fulci's cruelest, most intense piece; Recommended only for Fulci fans and those who want something much more disturbing than any mainstream slasher pic - all others stay away; otherwise this one will leave you feeling depressed for hours afterwards
½ April 10, 2011
It was good, but it seems like something was lost in translation there. Could easily be dismissed because of its brutal gore and sleazy 80s B-movie trappings, but deftly crafted by director Lucio Fulci, this is a superior giallo. This is a great slasher film. Not for everybody. Full of bizarre setpieces, that signature Fulci visual style, and plot turns that no rational human being could see coming, this is really a classic of its genre.
March 28, 2011
Another disturbing giallo thriller from Lucio Fulci. It was a little slow in parts and the editing and dialogue could have been better, but then you don't watch a Fulci film for great dialogue! Definitely not his best, but this film certainly delivers the trademark Fulci blood, gore, and creepy sound effects that make you just cringe! If you're not a Fulci fan, you might want to take a pass on this one, but it's great for the rest of us!
March 26, 2011
*Minor Spoilers*

Saw the uncut version and that wasn't really a big deal, other than the film being a few "X"tra minutes long. One can't accuse the beginning of being terribly unoriginal because it may have inspired the prologue to some suspense novels (that came out many years after this movie), as well as some other horror flicks with similar openings. However, this movie grew quite boring once it got to the middle. Overall, The New York Ripper doesn't hold well. The ending will leave viewers with questions. There's only ONE duck killer and it was a dumb idea to throw in that bit with the culprit receiving a call from another duck voice at the end to throw viewers off. The ending left me confused, particularly when Peter says "Don't go in Susy's room!", making me think that Fay was the killer. Recalls the movie Another Woman with Justine Bateman where a tragedy with Bateman's child made her memory all distorted. The same could've happened to Fay and Susy's condition could've made her have psychotic hallucinations and kill others for whatever reason. Some good cinematography here and there and the dubbing is fine, unlike what some have said. The dialogue at times is misogynisitic yet hilarious and the women are pretty but the kills aren't. The characters aren't all likeable however, particularly Fay (hard to believe her IQ is 182).
½ March 23, 2011
This movie starts out very strange and mysterious and confusing, the identity of the killer is very hard to figure out, I didn't know until the end. The end was actually incredibly sad and unexpected, and I thought that was cool, but the rest of the movie was kind of annoying. This movie could have been better.
Super Reviewer
½ March 23, 2011
This movie does a very good job at keeping the killer's identity a mystery up until the very end, and the gore is really realistic for the most part, but I didn't like how sad the ending was. Overall, it's a pretty good horror mystery, but it could have been a lot better.
½ March 23, 2011
Classic gore film from lucio fulci, nobody does this kind of film better
½ February 9, 2011
L'EVENTREUR DE NEW-YORK en vf. Dans sa contruction de polar poisseux à l'atmosphère de fin 70's, pas de souçi. Dans son histoire le sch (C)ma est classique mais pas plus mal foutu qu'un autre. Mais ce qui devra surtout rester en m (C)moire de ce chef d'oeuvre improbable c'est le mim (C)tisme de l' (C)ventreur se prenant pour un canard. Voilà! Un tueur canard, faut être un g (C)nie d'autod (C)rision ou un simple fou furieux pour arriver à coucher ca sur le papier, convaincre des prods, le tourner et oser le diffuser comme si de rien n'etait. Bravo! Du coup, le film devient un festival de tous les instants (g (C)niale vf en plus) ou l'on attend chacune des apparitions orale du canard, offrant ainsi une barre de rire syst (C)matique. Encore une victoire de canard!
WrenchLT
Super Reviewer
January 22, 2011
The most notorious and sleazy giallo of them all which see's the duck-voiced "New York Ripper" viciously murdering young women around the city that never sleeps. Containing a bunch of graphic stabbings with a strong sexual motive this film may seem overly brutal and perverse, but behind all that is still a decent watchable film if you can stomach it. It's rough around the edges and hardly brilliant, but if you like ultraviolent whodunnit-murder flicks then watch it.
January 3, 2011
Donald Duck is brilliant as The New York Ripper!
November 30, 2010
Convoluted and unpredictable for a Fulci film, based on what I've seen from him. With the same mediocre quality in the actors, and the friggen pointless dubbing. It was too inane and badly directed, or maybe I was in a bad mood. You have to really get accustomed to this cheap, cheap, filming style before considering it a horror attempt. In fact, the erotic plot thread was better filmed than the suspenseful and horror ones, thanks partially to the irritating presence of the Donald Duck voice as the murderer. Is the bad quality and experience intentional?
½ November 24, 2010
"The New York Ripper" gets a very low rating because of how disgustingly misogynistic and sleazy it is, despite the fact that technically, it's a relatively well-made giallo thriller with a decent mystery surrounding the identity of the killer. Director Lucio Fulci pulls out all the stops with this modern re-telling of the Jack the Ripper story set in the slums of Manhattan, where a deranged killer (who quacks like a duck, randomly) begins slicing up beautiful women in horrible ways. A local detective on the case enlists the help of a psychoanalyst to narrow his search for the identity of the killer before the body count rises too high. The game of cat-and-mouse that follows is relatively engrossing, leading to something of a shocking conclusion with an extremely satisfying and surprising death for the killer (it may literally blow your face off...).

All this being said, the film is extremely dark, depressing, and unbelievably cruel towards women. Not just in the kill scenes either, but in several of the dialogue and/or character development scenes as well. I don't really know what Fulci was going for with this extreme level of misogyny. I mean, I can understand it to a degree since the original Jack the Ripper was a truly perverted figure himself, but there are ways this film could have been done more tastefully to produce a better overall experience. I guess that wasn't what Fulci wanted though. Still, as it is, "The New York Ripper" has become infamous as one of the most controversial Italian horror titles to emerge from this era (still banned in uncut form in the UK), which I guess is a good thing for Fulci as more people have seen it solely for this reason than probably would have otherwise. I will say that there was a potentially decent film hidden here somewhere, were it not so tastelessly taken to such an extreme level of sleazy brutality.
½ November 15, 2010
Borderline porno at times, but Typical Fulci gore is a bonus
Super Reviewer
½ November 10, 2010
Without doubt, the goriest, most misogynistic, most depressing giallo I have ever had the displeasure of seeing, and probably the most idiotic too. No one would ever accuse the giallo - a genre whose ingenuity begins and ends with the object of keeping a killer's identity under wraps for as long as possible - of possessing a surfeit of logic and plausibility. Even so, Fulci takes the biscuit here; no wonder he has a criminal psychologist on hand to explain away the extraordinary behaviour of his characters. Take for instance the poor unfortunate gigolo, falsely accused of being a homicidal maniac, who decides to throw the police off his scent by acting just like a homicidal maniac! Good thinking, Batman. There are one or two good ideas here and there - in particular, a momentarily disorientating scene where we become fearful for the safety of a character whose apparent murder we have just witnessed seconds before - but Fulci isn't a talented enough director to make anything of them. Never the biggest fans of sexualised violence, I think I'm right in saying the British Board of Film Classification have yet to pass the uncut version of this movie. Ordinarily I would be grumbling about censorship right about now, but in this case the British public should really be thanking the BBFC for making a bad movie shorter.
½ October 27, 2010
A rather standard detective story is enhanced by some fantastic camera work and art direction. Fulci uses some really cool camera movements throught this violent film about a serial killer whom stalks and kills young women throughout New York, and also happens to talk and sound like a duck. Now, if you are wonder the dubbing is terrible and the performances are alright but do leave something to be desired; but this is a Fulci movie, which means its all about the aesthetic and gore; which it does have plenty of. Its interesting to see Fulci's viewpoint on New York, essentially a hotbed of sexual depravity. I think I am starting to think I prefer Fulci over Argento.
Page 4 of 14