Night at the Museum 2: Battle of the Smithsonian - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Night at the Museum 2: Battle of the Smithsonian Reviews

Page 3 of 1388
August 25, 2015
Kids will enjoy this while the adults get up to go make a sandwich and never come back.
August 20, 2015
You can't critique a movie like this. It was enjoyable I guess.
½ August 15, 2015
Bad just.. No story that much as THE SAME FREAKING FIRST MOVIE
½ August 10, 2015
With a plot full of endless possibilities, the stunted and hollow derivation of idea is regrettably a reminiscent reprisal of some of history's most notable figures coming back to life running amuck causing chaos and collateral damage.

The horrendous display of tired, immature and incoherent slap-stick is little more than a fiasco of recycled sugar-rush escapism. The incessant battering of juvenile and overzealous cheap-gags is unable to hold the target attention of children, let alone the bored chaperones.

"Sometimes the greatest change brings about an even greater opportunity." Ted Roosevelt.

Super-successful entrepreneur and infomercial pitchman, Larry Daley (Ben Stiller) is miserable and missing his old career. After returning for a nostalgic visit to his former stomping grounds at the Museum of Natural History he is advised that an extensive refurbishment and new fangled interactive holographic displays will take the place of his beloved exhibits.

Unaware of the magical and mysterious nightlife of the miniature dioramas museum curator Dr. McPhee (Ricky Gervais) ships off Larry's former comrades to the Smithsonian for permanent storage. his newfound celebrity status holds no pull for their return.

Unexpectedly that following night whilst Larry is attempting bring his friends back by using his new found celebrity pull, he receives a frantic distress call from call from thimble-sized miniature cowboy Jedididah (Owen Wilson).

Informing him that the crucial Egyptian tablet that gives them life is now awakening the entire contents of the multileveled subterranean underground archives, Larry jumps to rescue his friends for the new threat.

Held captive by the effeminate lisping evil overlord Pharaoh Kahmunrah (Hank Azaria) and his newly animated tyrant allies Napoleon (Alain Chabat) who has a bad case of little man syndrome, Ivan the Terrible (Christopher Guest) who properly translated is "Ivan the Awesome" and Al Capone (Jon Bernthal) still in black and white.

Larry assembles a team of well known historical figures from the sprawling malls vast collection including sassy can-do aviatrix pioneer Amelia Earhart, clueless eccentric General Custer (Bill Hader), the malls marble statue of wise honest Abe and a collection of bobble-headed Albert Einstein's (voiced by Hank Azaria and Eugene Levy respectively).

Will Larry realise the lucrative business enterprise that provided nice suits, a big house, moderate fame are just vain pursuits, and the real point to life is enjoying its simplicity humbly with the people you care for?

Positively attempting to entice children into the amazing world of museums, writing team Robert Ben Grant and Thomas Lennon and returning director Shawn Levy effortlessly toss in a myriad history, art and pop culture.

Factually quibbling the logistical impossibilities Rodin's "The Thinker" is actually in Paris, Grant Wood's "American Gothic" and Edward Hopper's "Nighthawks" are both on display at the Art institute in Chicago, Archie Bunker's chair, Muhammad Ali's boxing robe and Dorothy's ruby slippers are at the National Museum of American History in NY (where the movie starts). I'm quiet positive, if there is a display consisting of a singing trio of Italian cherubs they wouldn't resemble the Jonas Brothers or sing Bee Gee's.

However, there are some wonderfully understated pauses. Momentarily stopping to watch degas' twirling 14 year old dancer as Jeff Koons' Balloon Dog bounces merrily around the galleries. The heroines escaping in the Wright Brothers' plan and Larry's mobile phone working and inspiring a new career for Joey Motorola inside Alfred Eisenstaedt's VJ Day Photo, The Kiss.

Struggling mechanically through the haphazardly clustered and thoughtless lines even the likes of Robin Williams, Ricky Gervais and Steve Coogan are unable to scavenge true laughs upstaged sadly by two face-slapping monkeys and an adventurous squirrel.

The frenetic pedestrian and ultimately pointless made-to-make-big-box-office-bucks sequel simply numbs and dumbs the mind and is destined for that popular dusty niche on the rejects DVD shelf.

Ben Stiller's excruciatingly stilted and disengaged "been there, done that" approach leaves the overblown SNL sketch with a gapping hole larger than the Grand Canyon. No amount of spirited performances or witty banter by underdeveloped supporting actors could salvage this needlessly elaborate excursion.

The Verdict : The sheer fact that this only children's based comedy scheduled for release until Ice Age 3 in July makes it people only choice (personally I recommend going to the DVD shop and getting Jumanji). However, this movie lacks the heart, emotion and comedic timing of its nimbler 2006 predecessor. Even with a galaxy of comedy stars in cameos jokes are strangled, corny, uneasy and sadly bereft of all charm.

Published: The Queanbeyan Age
Date of Publication: 29/05/2009
August 8, 2015
The second entry in the Night At The Museum series has Ben Stiller and the gang at a larger museum and introduces some new characters.
Hank Azaria is the villain in the film and Robin Williams shines again as Teddy Roosevelt.
August 6, 2015
I havent seen it but I will because of course it will be funny
½ July 27, 2015
"Sun Come Dumb Dumb". This is as good of a sequel that you will ever see, there are some very funny scenes in this one, they add a few new characters this time around but the older characters are kinda on the back burner this time with the exception of a few but overall a very close call to being the best of 2009 so far but it comes up just a little bit short but still very good, see it.
July 18, 2015
Rating: 82%
Although it mostly follows the first installment, Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian still delivers plenty of laughs and a fine performance from Ben Stiller.
July 16, 2015
Much better than the first one. Pretty entertaining.
July 4, 2015
No. Good idea moving the whole "the museum comes alive" thing to the Smithsonian, which gave way to some adult/insider fun of seeing world famous art come to life. And I could tell that my twelve year old was having a blast, but this was just way to silly for me to keep up interest all the way through. Loved that they made Amelia Earhart a major character, though.
June 29, 2015
i was just at this museum, the movie trashed the place
½ June 28, 2015
This movie stinks! It is dumber and doesn't have any of the magic that the first movie had. There shouldn't have been a sequel. (First and only viewing - In my mid-twenties)
½ June 24, 2015
Just as it's according to the premise, the concept have grown into a new branch of another top museum and was stretched with more adventurous outgoing and more attempted comedy throughout as most of the new ones were just silly and unfunny. The sequel benefits from its' predecessor's cast, humor and sort of around the IQ being carried, while it also benefits only on the small amount of its added cast, effects and comic. The rest of the sequel's additions didn't actually do much to carry this sequel to be better than the first visit. Although the way it's placed as the trilogy's penultimate chapter does make this worth seeing and something to enjoy like the first film, even if it's less thanks to the silliness. (B)

(Full review coming soon)
½ June 8, 2015
If you enjoyed this first one, you will probably like this one as well.
June 2, 2015
Just like the first one; more or less adequate.
May 27, 2015
Another sweet Night at the Museum. One of the most loveable, cute, sweet, charming and ridiculously off-beat comedies that come along once in a lifetime! Very sweet movie!!
Super Reviewer
May 24, 2015
i liked this slightly better than the first. more fun with the idea but still way to dumbed down for the modern audience. the ending was pretty moronic, just end without all the over the top stuff.
½ May 23, 2015
I've got a feeling it's gonna be an OK night. Battle of the Smithsonian moves quicker than the first one, since it did not need to establish the "Day=Stationery Exhibits, Night=Living Exhibits" thing they had to do in the first one. After two years, it is revealed that Larry Daley (Ben Stiller) became a successful businessman when his company took off, and he quit the night-guardsman job. He still visits, and on the visit we see him make, the curator (Ricky Gervais) is having the exhibits packed, favoring "interactive" exhibits that are less lively than when they are actually alive. Most of them are shipped off to the Smithsonian, but not before Dexter the monkey steals the magic tablet macguffin, and it gets to the Smithsonian. There, we meet our previous pharaoh's evil brother, Kahmunrah (Hank Azaria actually appearing in person, but we still get good voice-work from him as the Thinker and Einstein), leading to an almost-similar repeat of the first movie. The differences are that it takes place in one night, and features Larry's love interest as Amelia Earhart (Amy Adams) brought to life by... the tablet. It makes sense she may feel crazy when she feels awoken after a long (Nonexistent) sleep, but seriously, how does this stuff work? I know it's a kids movie, but they need to explain how the tablet actually works. Ben Stiller still does well as Larry, only instead of being the big dreamer, he's where he wanted to be at the cost of his old livelihood. There is a larger cast of characters this time, but they are stretched too thin this time, leading to the axis of Napoleon Bonapart, Ivan the Terrible, and Al Capone being mere punchlines compared to Azaria's Kahmunrah, though it is hard to believe a pharaoh would be so eccentric. I also wish to point out that the narrower aspect ratio works for Owen Wilson's Jedidiah, because he and Octavius (Steve Coogan) look more believable where they are in their tiny forms, next to the normal-sized characters. Alan Silvestri does another mystique job with the soundtrack, although he treads like, no new ground. The Battle of the Smithsonian will be the movie no one will think too much about, because it just rehashed the first one with a bigger cast and museum.
May 20, 2015
the fun that was in the first is completely gone in this garbage.
½ May 3, 2015
Worst of the trilogy
Page 3 of 1388