Night Moves - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Night Moves Reviews

Page 1 of 7
David 'Mad Dog' Bradley
Adelaide Review
August 10, 2016
Reichardt's richly drawn characters make it often fascinating, as we observe their contradictions and very human failings, and finally build to a daringly unresolved finale.
Forrest Cardamenis
The Film Stage
June 6, 2016
If Night Moves is a misstep-and it is-it's a testament to Reichardt's talent that, all things considered, it's still a pretty good film.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Mark Jackson
Epoch Times
June 5, 2016
The film makes a good point-often those zealously caring about dead deer enough to dynamite a dam are hyper-focused to the point of oddly lacking compassion for fellow humans.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Alissa Wilkinson
Christianity Today
April 13, 2016
Night Moves calls us (inadvertently or not) to reconsider our definition of what's "natural." Certainly, some of the ways we've failed to care for the planet as we were charged back at the beginning have had dire consequences. Let's not ignore that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Justin Gerber
Consequence of Sound
September 2, 2015
The film serves as a reminder that our greatest fear isn't necessarily getting caught in the act; it's getting caught down the line.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Cara Nash
FILMINK (Australia)
February 19, 2015
Reichardt has crafted a mesmerising, unsettling film about the ripple effects of our decisions and how we live with them.
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
January 19, 2015
The actors in the story give very good performances. The story is fairly solid. It is a bit subdued and there are some logical holes in it, but on the whole it is a fairly realistic scenario.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Anita Katz
San Francisco Examiner
January 12, 2015
The actors give down-to-earth but emotionally charged performances distinguished by a subsurface simmer that sometimes intensifies into a slow boil.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
October 20, 2014
I'm a great admirer of Reichardt's work, but having watched 'Night Movies' twice, I have to concede that it's something of a dud.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Tony Stamp
Flicks.co.nz
October 16, 2014
The subdued acting combines with deliberate editing to slowly ratchet up viewers' nerves.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Rob Nelson
Minneapolis Star Tribune
October 5, 2014
I'd say this is a movie about alienation that, in the spirit of the boldest activism, isn't afraid to be ostracized itself. You may beg to differ, and I'd say that's the point.
Tom Clift
Concrete Playground
September 15, 2014
The narrative and visual minimalism, initially such an asset, eventually leaves the audience feeling numb.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 12, 2014
. A master at understatement, [director Kelly] Reichardt elicits very effective, subdued performances from her key cast, who have to keep the lid on their emotions almost all of the time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
September 11, 2014
It's a very well made film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
September 11, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg's performance has an intensity that is deliberately alienating, with Dakota Fanning and Peter Sarsgaard solid in support.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Craig Mathieson
Sydney Morning Herald
September 10, 2014
Virtually every shot feels like it adds to Reichardt's vision and it draws so tightly together that by the end, the only people left accessible to the likes of Josh are those in the watching audience. Night Moves makes you an accessory.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Paul Byrnes
Sydney Morning Herald
September 10, 2014
It's an unconventional thriller, more interested in character than plot, but gripping as both.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
September 6, 2014
After a riveting first half filled with tension and one in which we are left to draw our own conclusions about details and relationships, the remainder of the film fizzles to some extent, diminishing the payoff
Rob Thomas
Madison Movie
September 5, 2014
This is still a powerful film from one of America's best filmmakers who continues to push herself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
David Edwards
Daily Record (UK)
September 4, 2014
Eisenberg is in characteristically intense form, while Sarsgaard and Fanning are solid supports.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 7