Night of the Creeps - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Night of the Creeps Reviews

Page 3 of 40
August 24, 2014
WOW....BRILLIANT...AMAZING...GENIUS.....UNDERRATED...FANTASTIC....THIS IS SUCH A FANTASTIC MOVIE 2 WATCH.....its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie....i think that jason lively, steve marshall, jill whitlow, tom atkins, wally taylor, play good roles/parts throughout this movie.....i think that the director of this horror/sci-fi/fantasy/comedy movie had done a great job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.....its got good special effects throughout this movie.......its got a good soundtrack throughout this this is such a really really underrated movie 2 watch but it is such a fantastic movie 2 watch.......its got a great cast throughout this movie.....

Director Fred Dekker originally wanted to shoot the film in black and white. He included every B movie cliche he could think of and insisted on directing the script himself. The script was written in a week.

Night of the Creeps was released August 22, 1986. The domestic gross was $591,366 across 70 theaters.

Home video

The film was released on VHS and Laserdisc in 1986 by HBO/Cannon Video. Some of these feature the theatrical ending only.

The DVD and Blu-ray was released on October 27, 2009 by Sony Pictures Home Entertainment and contain the original ending along with some special features.

Alternate ending

Though not shown theatrically upon its original release, the original ending showed Chris and Cynthia standing in front of the burning sorority house, then moved to the street where police cars race down the street. The charred and 'zombified' Cameron is shuffling down the street when he suddenly stops and falls to the ground. His head explodes and the slugs scamper out and head into a cemetery, as the spaceship from the beginning of the film has returned with the aliens intending to retrieve their experiment, proposing a sequel.

This original ending is on the official DVD and Blu-ray release of the film, and can be seen in some television broadcast versions of the film, some US VHS copies, and on bootleg DVD copies.

man this is such an underrated movie 2 watch but it is such a fantastic movie 2 watch with a great cast throughout this movie it is such a brilliant movie 2 is such a really enjoyable movie 2 watch with a great cast throughout this is such a really underrated movie 2 watch but it is so brilliant movie 2 watch, its so so so funny movie 2 watch......
June 29, 2014
This is 80's horror comedy greatness. Smart enough to not take itself too seriously.
June 29, 2014
Classic B-movie with lots of irony, fun, and gory effects
June 23, 2014
It is what it is and it knows it, which makes it a lot of fun. The B-movie mockery of the classic retro films pieces together wonderfully. It has a noble place aside Evil Dead and Dead Alive.
½ June 7, 2014
A low budget sci-fi, horror, 80's coming of age movie mash up that lives up to it's cult movie status. Equal parts funny, silly, and gross this little homage-to-the-genre midnight flick is worth revisiting.
June 4, 2014
Great horror/comedy film!
June 3, 2014
Good Ole Fashioned Popcorn Horror Flick!
Super Reviewer
June 3, 2014
This is a fun, and affectionate, tribute to a wide variety of genres. 50s alien invasion films is probably the most prominent genre that is paid tribute. There's also a tribute to famous horror film directors of the era as several of the characters' names are inspired by horror filmmakers. George Romero, Sam Raimi, David Cronenberg, John Landis, James Cameron, Steve Miner, Tobe Hooper, John Carpenter, among others. So this was clearly made by someone who knew, and loved, the horror and sci-fi genre and I think it definitely shows in the final product. I don't think it was a perfect film, but it's definitely a movie that I had a lot of fun watching. It's got every B-movie cliche you can possibly think of. I think Fred Dekker must have been clairvoyant, because this film might have the douchiest 80s douchebag I've ever seen in a film. The time since this film's release has redefined the word douchebag and, I don't know why, this character comes across as even more of one in this day and age than he probably would've back in the day. This douchebaggery has definitely aged like a fine wine, it's better ow than it was originally. Jason Lively leaves a lot to be desired as an actor, but this is a horror movie so who really gives a shit about acting? With that said, that doesn't mean there aren't a pair memorable performances. Tom Atkins gives a fabulously entertaining performance as this cop haunted by his high school sweetheart's brutal murder. It's goofy and tongue-in-cheek and, by my estimation, Tom Atkins seemed to have a blast doing this role. Steve Marshall as JC, Chris' best friend, is also entertaining here. His quick-witted delivery somewhat reminded me a bit of Robert Downey Jr. Of course, he's not as good as Downey, but he is still entertaining. So yes, this film probably hasn't aged as well as other horror classics, but I definitely think it's something that horror nerds will greatly enjoy thanks to its many references to classics, and even some non-classics like Plan 9 from Outer Space. This is a good movie. It's not as grotesque as some of the 80s best horror films, but I had a lot of fun watching this movie, even with the rating I gave it. Horror nerds will be in heaven here.
May 11, 2014
Fantastic goof on 50s Sci-Fi Horror matinees. Tom Atkins steals the he tends to do. There are moments in this movie so heartfelt and well played you'll be genuinely moved. A absolute classic.
April 30, 2014
I've been on a bit of a 80s horror film kick this year, sadly i wasnt a big fan of this one, i dont feel it knew what it wanted to be, sometimes it was being silly tho other times it tried to be serious, i personally prefer the ones that are just real campy and dont try to be realistic, its still watchable, but i had higher expectations, tho its cool seeing dick miller pop up
April 23, 2014
You need to be in the right mood to appreciate this comedy horror ... it has some classic quotes.
February 9, 2014
Night of the Creeps is the B Horror movie John Hughes never made. It will "thrill you."
½ February 4, 2014
Tongue-in-cheek, cheesy, goofy and somehow - it's sooo enjoyable. One of the first Zomedies (zombie comedy - if someone older than me is wondering).
December 25, 2013
A predictable but entertaining B-Movie that has its moments but overall is pretty forgettable.
December 5, 2013
Favorite zombie/slasher 2 thumbs up.
December 4, 2013
One often ponders how Fred Dekker never went on to bigger things. This homage to 1950's horror flicks is the balls. The Monster Squad graffiti on the bathroom door was a nice touch and Wally Taylor is immense as Detective Landis. Dekker's follows this up with the classic 'The Monster Squad' but sadly and very surprisingly his third and last flick as a director was Robocop 3, and yet Michael Bay is still making films.
September 22, 2013
A honest to goodness cult classic brilliant but stupid, some would say an exercise in schlock filmmaking but the dialogue is perfectly said, and Tom Atkins is wonderful as Ray Cameron and the movie is wonderfully paced its a shame no one really knows about this movie.
September 11, 2013
Favorite zombie/slasher flick definately thumbs up.
½ July 30, 2013
The punchlines, the cop, and the fact that the monster is a slug is what powers the comedy end of this film. Gore is a bit light for horror fans, but i found myself enjoying the movie for the most part. A bit slow and flat in some scenes, but overall decent, if not good
½ July 22, 2013
It may be worth more than 2.5 but the lack of likeable characters & the aliens that look like a ginger root crossed with a malformed penis lose it marks.
Page 3 of 40