Night of the Demons - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Night of the Demons Reviews

Page 1 of 26
February 5, 2017
Goofy and absurd... but fun enough.
½ January 28, 2017
A group of teens decide to spend Halloween night in an old abandoned funeral home that's supposed to be haunted. Well, the building is haunted and the teens one by one become possessed by demons and kill each other off. All except for the one good girl of the group who is our heroine of the film. The acting and writing isn't all that great and the direction is a far cry from being anywhere as creative or inventive as Sam Raimi. However, the film does have some nice old school practical special effects, which I always think look better on screen than CGI special effects. Also, (SPOILER ALERT!) I'll give the film credit that the film's good girl heroine is aided by her black male teen friend, which bucks the usual trend of horror films of the 80s that typically killed off supporting minority characters early in the story, let along allow them to be heroes who save the day. Overall, this one isn't a classic, but it's worth watching for 80s horror nostalgia value. Scream Queen Linnea Quigley is the only major actress in the film.
½ October 22, 2016
something about this really didn't connect with me. i'm not sure why. was it fun? yeah. had some nice gore. just felt like a "maybe i'm too old for this" kinda movie. i think i had some kind of assumption of what it would be like after seeing the scary poster for the sequel as a child, but the movie was just nothing like that assumption, i'll tell ya what.
October 17, 2016
A fun Halloween classic that unfortunately runs out of ideas towards the end. Also as much as I love the opening theme song, a large portion of the score is very grating and improperly used.
October 16, 2016
the acting was awful and it was more humorous than scary. However I'd definitely add it to my collection! One of those bad cheesy films that you'd watch out of laughter of how bad it is.
½ July 19, 2016
A great 80's B-Movie. It's dumb, fun and ridiculous and also manages to pull off some intense jolts.
April 24, 2016
The acting is bad but can spark up some laughs and the special effects are cool. There's a particular scene I like in which the character Angela seductively dances to strobe lights and the music of Bauhaus. Its main killer is its story, which is pretty thin. Overall its enjoyable enough to recommend but don't expect perfection.
½ March 9, 2016
An Evil Dead wanna-be. There is some appreciated nudity, but most of the characters aren't likable and the effects and demon designs aren't good (Big yellow zits). I will say the film is fun at times, so if you are curious I guess it may be worth a watch.
November 19, 2015
If you're looking for a great, fun Halloween party movie, then Night of the Demons is definitely the ticket for you. It's a pure 1980's hard rock-driven Halloween flick with all of the gore, sex and nudity that 1980's horror movies had to offer. It also contains your basic formula of a bunch of teenagers getting together in old abandoned house for a party wherein everything goes to hell. This time around, instead of an old house, it's an old abandoned funeral home, which ups the ante when it comes to the overall creepiness factor. The make-up effects are great, the cinematography is great with atmosphere, and the acting won't win any awards, but it isn't meant to be anything more than what it already is, which is just a fun horror movie. Be sure to keep your eyes peeled for scream queen Linnea Quigley in one of the major roles.
October 21, 2015
I have no clue why this movie has a better rating than the remake when it sucks. It's low on the graphic violence side, but there is definitely a bit of it. Nothing really happens for like half of the film. It's an extremely slow slasher. Throw all your conventional ideas about supernatural films out the window, there is no logic with this one except one idea that is told about long in the beginning and you're reminded about it...

On Halloween, the spirits of both good and evil are free to roam the land. That's all good and all, but apps rely that also applies to anyone who is killed as well by the spirits are also alive and evil. Then, when the night ends, everyone goes bye bye. Except for, say the main possessed one which also breaks all logic, especially subject she wasn't even the first to be possessed.

Anyway, it's ridiculous and over the top, but an okay watch. The remake is way better and gorier. You have terrible acting and typical '80s teenager crap. But apparently all the female actresses they hired have amazing and perfectly beautiful breasts. Did I mention that the Asian girl has the biggest of then all? Very interesting indeed. And that's about it. The film felt dragged in if you can believe it.
Super Reviewer
½ October 11, 2015
A block of 80's schlock with jump scares (which bombard the viewers with Dennis Michael Tenney's blaring synthesizer score) and sťance-summoning atmosphere aplenty, Night of the Demons is a spooky, enjoyably kitschy B-movie ripe for rediscovery. The ghostly opening- credits animation of Hull House is an old-fashioned, matte-painting throwback to 'Fantasia's Night on Bald Mountain. The acting range within the film scuttles from wooden to unintentionally hammy (the choice of a Frank Welker mimic for the lip-synched demon is consequently riotous since visions of Megatron and Doctor Claw materialize). The soon-to-be-osmotically-possessed-via-kiss teenagers (who could be 30-year-olds) begin as sexist, repulsive hedonists guzzling Coors and coveting intercourse but a trio of them eventually evolves into amiable characters worthy of rescue. Sal Romero (William Gallo) is the Fonz of the picture who is the sex-starved Italian until he chivalrously sacrifices himself for Judy Cassidy (Cathy Podewell who monotones her lines like Farrah Fawcett with a frontal-lobe lobotomy), the virtuous heroine. In a novel contortion on conventions, Roger (Alvin Alexis), the token African-American isn't the first victim. The sensual highlight is Angela Franklin's (Amelia Kinkade) otherworldly, callisthenic dance choreography in a black veil with a strobe light in the background. Her lithe movements are simultaneously erotic and unsettling. The countdown to a body count is a long fuse but it compensates in dividends of bodice-ripper nudity (the coquettish, tutu-wearing Linnea Quigley usually disrobes on a whim) and flesh-tearing mutilation.
August 31, 2015
Mad Props On this Film... Simply Because This was the First Horror Movieu to have a Brotha do what every "Real" Brotha would do.... RUUUUUUUNNN!!
½ July 14, 2015
For a 1980s movie night of the demons is very scary film, but it has a lot of annoying tropes. It's one of those movie with a few of those completely helpless characters that are just annoying to watch. This usually isn't that hard to get over in a movie, but here it was just hilariously dumb. Also a few of the actors are just atrocious, and the writing can be pretty bad at times. The worst acting comes from two of the female main characters (you will know who I'm talking about when you watch the movie) and they are bad. Really bad. But not all of the acting is bad. William Gollo and Amilia Kinkade both gave great performances. This has got to be one of the scariest 80s film I've seems. The makeup is great, the backstory is great, and the direction is exceptional. The weird occult atmosphere of the film works very well and creates a menacing felling for most of the film. This one feels way ahead of its time, and if you overlook some of the flaws you can have a great time with it, but there's a bit to much to work on for me to give it a great score. 70/100
½ May 21, 2015
classic! love Cathy poedwell
½ May 12, 2015
Cliched late 1980s horror with mild scares and gore. Night of the Demons nailed the cheesy dialog and unnecessary nudity, but did not fulfill in any other category.
February 24, 2015
Creepy and gross! Not great acting but with nasty deaths, who cares about acting!
January 12, 2015
Night of the demons is a cult classic and should be recognized more by horror fans . It has everything you would want in a horror film . Blood, gore, awesome punk rock music including a song by the 80s band Bauhaus and involving a lipstick being pressed into a woman's breast . So if your into these cheesy unheard horror movies , Night of the
demons is a real treat for you .
January 1, 2015
This one has a special place in my heart based on numerous rentals with friends in the early '2000s. It is filled with memorable lines and some truly over the top violence and make up that's still pretty freaky to look at even all these years later.

Linnea Quigley steals the show in her magnificently slutty tutu and eventual freaky make-up, making this a must watch for fans of '80s horror.

Recommended.
½ November 8, 2014
Slow paced horror film which is promising from the outset but turns into people running through corridors.
Page 1 of 26