Night Shift - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Night Shift Reviews

Page 1 of 15
August 17, 2016
A morgue attendant takes the night shift where he works with crazy partner Michael Keaton; who happens to love prostitutes. They soon turn the morgue into a night brothel. Fun, fresh eighties comedy.
½ August 7, 2016
Morgue workers run a prostitution ring in this funny dark comedy.
July 22, 2016
Winkler is a complete pushover until he reluctantly teams up with call girl Long and complete goofball Keaton. It's a lot of fun, especially if you're a fan of Keaton's 80s comedy work.
½ June 15, 2016
It took 34 years but I finally watched Night Shift! I remember the Friday it came out. My father wanted to take me to see it but I wanted to see something else, I don't what but we didn't see Night Shift. The movie is probably inappropriate for a 6 year old but inappropriate never stopped my Dad from taking me to films.
Extra half a star for the manic performance from a young Michael Keaton. I am so glad that MK is back!
March 20, 2016
Classic 80's flick with Michael Keaton... & Richard Belzer.
July 20, 2015
I has seen this one before but didn't remember it at all. By his is Ron Howard's directorial debut. Henry Winkler and Michael Keaton are good, especially Keaton. They work at a morgue on the Night Shift and start running an escort service. It's not laugh out loud funny but it is amusing. Give it s try.
½ April 21, 2015
I enjoyed the performances and the concept, but the jokes just did not land and the characters were so basic and generic despite the good job by the actors. It's one of those movies where things just sort of happen for a long time and then near the end they finally realized there should probably be some sort of plot development. Not a bad movie, and it's an enjoyable "find on TV after midnight" kind of movie, but not something that needs to be seen (unless maybe you're a die hard Ron Howard or Michael Keaton fan).
½ February 28, 2015
a pleasant-enough and romp comedy about two morgue workers and them making a lot of money starting their own brothel
Henry Winkler is quite the star to watch and this is the start of Michael Keaton's claim to fame, he's so ridiculously upbeat and insane in his own way
of course this movie doesn't overstep itself when it comes to girls turning tricks; it does address the stress of the job, the competition people face, and the dyer complications that arise from it
for an 80's sex comedy there's still a fair amount of heaviness and lightheartedness to go with it
it's also quite the early starting point for famous director Ron Howard
plenty of sight gags and silliness
February 14, 2015
Not a fantastic movie, but humorous. And great performances by Henry Winkler and especially Michael Keaton.
½ January 27, 2015
Dated comedy that's ripe for a remake. Two city morgue attendants working the night shift turn their workplace into a brothel. Has some laughs, but is too tame and clich├ęd by today's standards. Look for Kevin Costner and Shannen Doherty in small roles.
½ January 23, 2015
Keaton absolutely soars off the screen
January 14, 2015
While this is a film that feels very dated, it doesn't lack quality. Other than a setup that drags on forever, there isn't too much wrong with this film. With that said, there also isn't anything that makes it stand out from the pack either. Although it's technically sound, it doesn't have many traits that prevent it from being forgettable. The story may have been somewhat unique for the time period, but it's not told in the grandiose fashion that we have become accustomed to in this era of film.

Henry Winkler and Shelley Long hold their ground pretty well here, but the highlight of the film is Michael Keaton who really keeps the film moving. You can't take your eyes off of him, whether you like his character or not.

This is a great effort by Ron Howard and not a film that most people will hate, as it also gives us solid character development--especially with Winkler's character. The script is acceptable and the music is a great mark of the times. While the characters in this film are very often stressed out and distraught, Night Shift brings you back to a much simpler decade.

Twizard Rating: 81
½ September 28, 2014
One of the funniest forgotten comedy gems from the 80's....Keaton's breakout performance in one of my favorite 80s comedy.
½ September 7, 2014
This early Ron Howard film is not as good as the similarly conceived Risky Business, but notable for Michael Keaton's unforgettable screen debut.
August 6, 2014
It's inconsistently funny and often times the supporting characters enthrall the audience more than the lead, but Night Shift has its moments and features a great performance from Michael Keaton
July 13, 2014
The Adventures Of Chuck And Billy Blaze, 'Idea Man'--Night Shift is the right shift... Blaze-O-Rama!!
May 8, 2014
Dad: 91
For sentimental reasons
Watched it repeatedly in high school
Michael Keaton's first film
I still repeat lines thirty years later -
"You like music kid?"
½ May 3, 2014
Very solid movie overall with a definite 80's feel to it. Keaton had a strong likable character, but nothing overall too complex or stellar.
March 23, 2014
Erin Whalen loves this movie! It was pretty entertaining... I mean, Ron Howard makes a movie about hookers working out of a morgue... that has to be funny!
½ February 2, 2014
77% Michael Keaton's delightfully eccentric performance really gives it the edge.
Page 1 of 15