Nights in Rodanthe - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nights in Rodanthe Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 14, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 23, 2009
...the film ultimately earns a place for itself within the pantheon of effectively stirring romantic tearjerkers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
February 15, 2009
While it may be discerned as more a vehicle for the actors' reunion than a creative gem, the contributive factor to its attractiveness is the chemistry of the match.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
November 14, 2008
Bring tissues.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Erin Free
FILMINK (Australia)
November 7, 2008
While not for the cynical or hard-of-heart, Nights in Rodanthe is something of a rarity: a film that puts its characters first.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 5, 2008
Something about Diane Lane's performance, especially in that third act, really got me involved in the film emotionally.
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
November 5, 2008
You will get exactly what you are expecting. More or less, in any event. More in the case of the film's heart; less in the case of the last reel, when the storyline and execution dissolves into buckets of schmaltz.
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
October 23, 2008
You know,s ometimes a movie is worth it just because of its texture.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
David Edwards
Daily Mirror (UK)
October 10, 2008
The word formulaic doesn't quite cover it, but our two leads just about hold their heads above a tidal surge of sappy plotting, contrived dialogue and choppy editing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rich Phippen
Sky Movies
October 10, 2008
It ticks the right boxes to be a hit - the tear jerking aspect being key to the word of mouth - but it's a movie that rarely breaks out of it's average confines.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sukhdev Sandhu
Daily Telegraph (UK)
October 10, 2008
I'd hoped the lathered-up romanticism of Nights in Rodanthe would stop me from thinking about the awfulness of what's going on in the world. It didn't; it compounded it.
Angie Errigo
Empire Magazine
October 10, 2008
It's like The Bridges Of Madison County with more shouting, only not nearly as good. No surprises whatsoever, but nice scenery, attractive stars and another credible, affecting performance from Lane that hoiks it up an extra star.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Victor Olliver
Teletext
October 9, 2008
Richard Gere's latest is the sort of weepy that gets shown on daytime TV in between the over-50s life insurance ads.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
October 5, 2008
This involving movie ultimately succumbs to a severe case of the weepies, as we know it must
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
October 3, 2008
A tad clunky and sappy and yes, even hokey. But, the picture still works. I was always engaged, I was always interested in what happened next, and I was always entertained.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com
October 1, 2008
A modern-day romance between two mature people.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
September 29, 2008
...Lifetime Television with a Steven Spielberg budget.
| Original Score: 3/5
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze
September 28, 2008
Another sappy soap opera for Nicholas Sparks fans satisfied by panoramic seascapes offset intermittently by lingering interludes of dysfunctional strangers locking lips and loins.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Gary Brown
Houston Community Newspapers
September 27, 2008
Despite stretches of credulity in the plot, the on-screen chemistry between Gere and Lane carries the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Fred Topel
Can Magazine
September 26, 2008
I was pretty well braced for everything to come, but man, that scene with the daughter at the end still got me. Damn you, Nicholas Sparks, and your magical tear jerking super powers!
Page 1 of 7