Nina's Tragedies - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nina's Tragedies Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ April 14, 2013
One of the best israeli movies
½ June 4, 2012
Cute story and fun coincidences...
½ May 6, 2012
I wasnt impressed with its start, but it worked itself out in the end to be a good movie.
August 6, 2011
Nadavi is a 10-year-old-boy who is in love with his beautiful aunt, Nina. Like Nadavi, Nina was always in love with her teenager sweetheart (Haimon) in a very troubled and unhealthy relationship. Right after a huge fight, Nina and Haimon decide to get married but it does not last because Haimon is killed, and Nina becomes a very young widow. During Haimon's funeral, Nadavi's father (Yoran) tries to reconnect with him and an enigmatic photographer comes to console Nina. In order to help Nina to recover, Nadavi's mother (Alona) asks him to stay with Nina to keep her company as well as Alona will be able to have more privacy with her boyfriend (Issie). Nina is going to miss Haimon a lot at the same time that is going to feel guilty about her recovering, and Nadavi is going to have trouble to understand Nina. This is a movie about modern Israeli life.
½ March 9, 2011
impactful & memorable -- every boy's dream aunt
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2011
Nina's Tragedies is a well-done serio-comical look at a young boy growing up in the midst of chaos. The one constant in Nadav's (Aviv Elkabeth) life is his puppy-love for his aunt, Nina (Ayelet Zurer). His father moved out, his mother entertains a string of lovers, and he gets his fondest wish when the woman of his dreams needs someone to help her deal with the sudden death of her husband. The cast is terrific, and the comedy is low-key while dealing with some serious issues of love and trust and abandonment. The pace is slow, to the point of almost losing momentum altogether, but picks up again before complete paralysis takes over. This would have benefited from a slightly firmer hand in the editing room, but was still quite entertaining.
½ October 29, 2010
Again, another film that I didn't start from the beginning.
It's a lovely, heartwarming, occasionally funny, and thought-provoking Israeli film.

When Avinoam visited Nina after her husband died, she was supposed to feel depressed but she couldn't help but think Avinoam is sexy. She feels guilty about it. --This is a narrative of Nadav's diary, Nina's teenager nephew. This boy is disgusted by the confession she made.

When Nadav's dad died, Nadav didn't cry at the funnel. He could only think about whether his dad had read his diary given by his teacher after he lost it. At this time, Nadav has decided that he will love Nina forever. His dad has and wrote the following in his diary:

My beloved Nadavi.
Jewish tradition says that during a man's funeral
all the sperms he spilled in vain come to denounce him.
Millions of sperms will come to denounce me,
but there's one single sperm, beloved and sweet,
that grew into a young boy, and with one breath, one look,
he'll drive them all away to hell.
My sweet little Nadav, my angel, my darling.
You're not just Madam Estrea,
you are Madam Estrea, my talented lovely writer.
I always knew what I saw when I read your diary.
I'm so happy that I read it.
Now I'm leaving you calm, with a smile, with great love.
And if you look real close,
I bet you'll see me bragging about you up there.
December 7, 2009
Phenomenal acting almost overcomes a lackluster script, but not quite. The randomness of some of the events coupled with a shallow treatment of some themes make this only average on the whole. A good Israeli film, but not one of the best.
½ March 4, 2009
I liked it, regardless of the subject matter it's still a rather thoughtful movie.
March 3, 2009
slt t'laaaaaaa cava m brahim hattab
October 15, 2008
exciting awakening excitement form the acting
June 24, 2008
Interesting movie. Ingeniously created on the limits of many genres. Some passages are boring, but overall is a good movie
½ June 7, 2008
Nina' s gorgeous. I guess I do like stories told by Jewish liberals
April 26, 2008
a veces los delirios pueden tener verdad o SON verdad!
April 20, 2008
A sad comedy.. I felt the part about Nadav peeping & stalking his aunt was quite twisted..
½ April 14, 2008
Cute story and fun coincidences...
February 23, 2008
An Israeli film about a teenager's obsession with his recently widowed young aunt. Not a bad piece of work, but it could've been better: the characters, particularly the nephew whose diary entries provide the film's voice-over, are seriously underdeveloped, thus weakening the central tension. A bit like watered-down Kieslowski in fact.
February 20, 2008
brilliant if a little irksome film! even tho it was a little slow at first im glad i persevered for what turned out to be one of the most surprisingly good films i have seen in a long while!
December 17, 2007
i appreciated overall story -- about a boy and his relationship with his dad. i couldn't get over the ick factor of his peeping on and stalking his aunt.
Page 1 of 2