Nine Inch Nails: Broken (The Broken Movie) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nine Inch Nails: Broken (The Broken Movie) Reviews

Page 2 of 5
November 19, 2008
Pretty silly. Four of the five videos here are present on "Closure," so if you have that, the only real reason to see it is if you just can't miss the framing footage of a guy being tortured and mutilated.

I dunno, maybe this would have had more of an impact had I seen it back in '93 or thereabouts, although I was getting pretty desensitized to this sort of stuff even then. I vaguely remember the "Happiness in Slavery" video making me wince the first time I saw it, so perhaps more innocent eyes are needed for this to work. If nothing else, the music's great; the "Broken" EP was, after all, a pretty big part of my college years. As a fan, I'm not sorry I saw it, but I'm also glad it didn't cost me more than a blank DVD-R for burning.
½ October 22, 2008
Only saw this recently so it has probably lost its edge but nevertheless it is still very impresssive and again highlights the dark genius of Reznor.
October 19, 2008
Loved every second of it, Trent truly is a genius!
October 15, 2008
Ah....well let's just say that there is a reason that Trent is a genius. The gore and tone of the videos are just so disturbing.
August 22, 2008
this is the short film that trent reznor of nine inch nails made... and got in to trouble with the FBI..

this was supposed to be "THE" snuff film...

well it wasnt as brutal as i had hoped..
even though it looked pretty real...

it didnt blend together like i thought... but it was still pretty good!
good direction and imagine what it would look like today if it was made!

now once i get my hands on a better quality of the film it might pull together much better...
( this is only for extreme collectors and fans)
½ June 28, 2008
The dark and twisted video for the Broken EP, an amazing piece of work.
June 25, 2008
June 18, 2008
This is pretty much genius, but I have a hard time saying that after watching several other gore frenzy-like films now, and I don't know if they are genius or just disturbed anymore...
June 6, 2008
Pre-Ebay copies of this tape are almost impossible to come by - and thankfully I've been blessed with one. Prior to Closure, the Broken video served as one of the few, if not only, unofficial VHS compilations of NIN up to the mid 90's. They're all fascinating.
½ May 23, 2008
Watch for the music stay for the brutality or the other way around, whichever way you see life I guess
May 19, 2008
This movie is only for sick fucks and NIN fans. I happen to be both.
May 14, 2008
This movie is the closet thing you are getting to a snuff film. About some kidnapped man who is forced to watch NIN music videos and then is brutaly killed and eaten. Some copies of this are in good quality and some in poor condition because of the tape trades. A must see for NIN fans.
May 11, 2008
Trent should have his head checked... But otherwise _different_ movie.
April 18, 2008
Ah the infamous Broken Movie. This was suppose to be released in '93 originally but was pushed back again and again due to its graphic content and now looks like it will never be officially released for that reason.
So on one hand, yeah it's dark and graphic and disturbing. But on the other hand, is it more depraved than the Hostel movies, or some parts of the Saw movies, or Wes Craven's Last House on the Left? I don't think so. Torture porn is such a fad these days and with so much of it out there, it's hard to believe that this video has been deemed 'too graphic' or whatever for release. Anyway, it's on the internet for anyone who want to hunt it down. It's well executed (no pun intended), and the Nine Inch Nails videos in it are excellent (especially Help Me I Am In Hell), and it's not for the weak stomached or faint of heart, but there's way worse out there raking in money at the box office all the time. Regardless of that, tread lightly.
April 18, 2008
Fuckin' ace. A punch in the face to record industry with a short 20-something movie that's not for everyone's eyes. Or ears, for that matter.
April 13, 2008
Bob Flanagan is a master of his art.
March 29, 2008
not for the faint hearted,and somthing that will burn its image onto your retina-a glimpse into a deranged but truly manificent songwriters imagination
Super Reviewer
February 28, 2008
Like snuff films put to NIN. Fantastic and disturbing. God, I wish Reznor was still doing exciting stuff.
February 25, 2008
Very disturbing but fits perfectly with the "Broken" EP. Not for the feint hearted.
February 25, 2008
this movie will fuck you up
Page 2 of 5