No End (Bez konca) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

No End (Bez konca) Reviews

Page 2 of 2
June 1, 2009
Kieslowski's "No End" is a fairly basic story about a woman who loses her husband, and about a man who seeks freedom from imprisonment. Both are seeking a freedom, but one is told it's possible, the other is told it's not. The woman can be free of her thoughts and feelings for her husband (by way of hypnotism), but the man cannot emerge from his trial a winner. However, through a strange twist of reality, the characters find out that they were incorrectly informed, and it costs one of their lives.
Kieslowski's impressive camerawork, as seen in his Three Colors Trilogy, is somewhat lessened, but still very evident. His ability to show us what we might normally look at, instead of something highly important, brings the world to life. The dialogue is at times simple, but at others highly complicated and difficult to follow. But overall, the story and meaning is not lost, but rather brilliantly available through images and dialogue together. Zbignew Preisner's amazing score carefully underscores the emotions of the characters in the film without overbearing our ears with the his haunting melodies.
½ May 8, 2009
Jeg husker jeg likte denne veldig godt - samtidig føler jeg at jeg har glemt en del, noe som taler imot den. Tror jeg må se den igjen.
½ April 11, 2009
Impressive film by Krzysztof Kieslowski about a widow who gets involved with her late husband's client who participated in a strike. The film opens with the husband telling us that he has just died, it's a haunting and very well delivered scene. The political side of the story was a little confusing, because I don't really know Poland's history during the 80s (okay, I don't know any of Poland's history), but it's not terribly important. The great thing about Kieslowski was that he managed to have so many layers in his films, so much can be talked about with such a brief moment. For instance, the scene where Grazyna Szapolowska goes to a hypnotist in order to forget her husband. The "score", the appearance of the husband, and the aftermath of the session, it's so brilliantly done. And the scene at the cemetery, and the use of candles, the lighting was amazing. Oh, and the ending is incredible and beautiful. A very good film.
½ March 19, 2009
noticeably, Kieslowski takes a political stand, yet, obviously the psychological life of individuals is as crucial as always.
November 17, 2008
Slightly disappointing compared to some of the Polish director's other films but still worth a watch for the performanes
November 13, 2008
that was light blue with a bit of purple, among white shadowes and still amaizing, as his other works
Super Reviewer
July 5, 2008
this is maybe the 15th Kieslowski film i've seen in 3 months, and was the one i went into knowing the least about- and in a way it is a personal favorite. almost all of the other films i've seen were better films, better stories, but there's something about the sadness, pace and performances in this one that i'm real into.
October 18, 2007
Wzruszy?em si? ogl?daj?c t? gorzk? histori?.
September 18, 2007
great view on Poland during martial law in early 80's
September 5, 2007
Compelling ideas almost come together in the end. Half-baked Kieslowski is a bit uneven. Still, there are some undeniably fascinating existential moments.
½ August 13, 2007
2006:07:21 @ Palace IFC, HK
Page 2 of 2