No Man of Her Own - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

No Man of Her Own Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 14, 2016
The first half of this movie is very good. Clark Gable and Carole Lombard - who would later become one of Hollywood's most glamorous couples - worked together for the first, and sadly only time. Their chemistry is great, as is the supporting cast. Unfortunately, 'No Man of Her Own' reverts from energetic comedy to being a rather conventional romance in the second half, and the ending is rather abrupt.
½ October 7, 2015
good pre-code rom-com-dram
May 5, 2015
Totally unremarkable, but charming nonetheless due to star power.
October 15, 2013
The only screen pairing of future real life husband and wife Clark Gable and Carole Lombard. Devastated by her death in a 1942 plane crash, Gable never got over losing her. After being widowed by Lombard (and despite marrying two more times) when Gable died 18 years later, his then pregnant wife/widow, Kay Spreckles, laid him to rest next to Lombard, as he had requested.
April 16, 2012
Great old movie with the handsome Clark Gable...Very good...
October 26, 2011
Just brought makeing comments so much later..
½ July 31, 2011
The great chemistry between the two leads is about the only thing going for this movie, unless you count the surprisingly risque outfits and innuendos. The storyline is choppy and barely holds together, and I sure could've used some music to fill in some of the empty spaces.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ May 19, 2010
Utterly ordinary comedy drama whose sole distinction is the pairing of Gable and Lombard in their only appearance together. They do well but Carole was still a few years from her breakthrough as a major star in Twentieth Century and here is just a leading lady with too blonde hair and awful makeup hiding her natural radiance. Worth one watch for the pairing but you'll forget it almost as soon as it's over.
½ June 25, 2009
For being from the early 30s this movie was very well acted. The relationship between Gable and Lombard was fantastic. I can only imagine the actual chemistry between these two on the set of this film. You can really see how much the two enjoy each other as it is the only film with the two of them together.
October 14, 2008
love the chemistry between Gable and Lombard, wonderful film. Clark Gable is so hot in this film... i can see why he was chosen to play Rhett Butler, he has this mischievious smile, that says look out honey, i am nothing but trouble.
August 10, 2008
I really loved the chemistry between Lombard and Gable in this film. It was unique in the fact that you could really feel it growing in the film and it wasn't just a single level throughout.
January 13, 2008
I watched this because she's a librarian. She abandons her career shortly into the movie though. :(
½ October 27, 2007
yay for young gable! he would kick cloony's butt
September 15, 2007
I heart Clark Gable!
½ August 29, 2007
Great movie about unconditional love. Very believable acting as expected with any movie with Clark Gable. And also with every Gable movie, the dialogue is classic. "Do your eyes bother you...because they sure bother me." What a pimp.
½ July 29, 2007
Gable and Lombard have mind-blowing chemistry, but the story itself doesn't hold up. It's too bad we never got a second movie with these two.
June 21, 2007
Worth watching if for no other reason than to see future husband and wife Gable and Lombard together on screen.
June 12, 2007
While being a really stand-up movie, it lacks substance and really anything memorable. But remember, a really stand up movie is a really stand up movie.
Page 1 of 2