The Notebook - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Notebook Reviews

Page 1 of 8
April 11, 2012
If you ever want to see a flawless example of a movie which is redeemed from mediocrity solely through the cast, there is hardly a better one than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
September 19, 2010
Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams spark cinematically everlasting magic in a romance that's no tawdry Harlequin hay-roll. "The Notebook" excels most when contemplating love's obligations and responsibilities, that unique balance of fire and calm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 29, 2009
A very engrossing and entertaining sudsy romance with top notch performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 5, 2009
for someone who loves these sorts of stories, it would be a fantastic movie
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 16, 2009
I prepared myself for a tearjerker; what I didn't prepare for was an outright gusher.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
November 29, 2008
...one of contemporary cinema's most compelling and flat-out indelible love stories.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 18, 2008
A potently rich story about the power of love, The Notebook is heartbreakingly beautiful and achingly real.
August 7, 2008
Ssomehow Cassavetes pulls it off -- thanks mainly to sensitive performances and pretty Hallmark-card cinematography by Robert Fraisse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 23, 2007
A sentimental film filled with flashbacks and clichés.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 27, 2006
A thoughtful, emotionally rich film in which we see that great love, like deep faith, is forged on doubt, trials, and hardships. Only then does it deliver its deepest rewards.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 26, 2006
I cannot believe I'm about to recommend a movie as clogged with melodramatic treacle as Nick Cassavetes' adaptation of The Notebook.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 28, 2005
Um romance sensível e emocionante que leva o espectador a se importar com o destino de seus tocantes personagens.
| Original Score: 5/5
February 18, 2005
A fine tale that will leave romantics everywhere misty eyed.
| Original Score: B
October 25, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 17, 2004
I see several films a week, year after year. Once in a great while I see one that I know will stay with me for the rest of my life. That's The Notebook.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
August 16, 2004
The real two joys of the film are Garner and Rowlands.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 23, 2004
How rare to see a film that says there is still a value system out there, that being thoughtful and caring is not uncool.
July 19, 2004
Its first 15-20 minutes are awful, but the film eventually emerges as a credible and even genuinely heartrending tearjerker.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 16, 2004
Like a summer wedding, you attend and root and try your best not to snicker.
Full Review| Original Score: B -
July 6, 2004
Well-done, well-acted schmaltz, a beautifully shot melodrama that overcomes its contrivances by striking just the right romantic tone.
| Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 8