Nothing Like the Holidays - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nothing Like the Holidays Reviews

Page 1 of 39
December 25, 2015
A very real drama... I just wish ANYTHING happened in it. This movie is just a boring slice of life.
December 25, 2015
Very nice Christmas movie. Very underrated!
½ December 22, 2015
Nothing special about the plot of this "home for the holidays" film but the cast is a joy to watch.
May 25, 2015
They call that comedy? Much more drama than comedy in this film. There are funny moments, many. The storyline is sweet and lovely. The whole is very well played, seriously.
January 10, 2015
My boy Freddy from Lincoln Park H.S. is in this. LPHS show some support!
½ September 21, 2014
A warm, light and enjoyable movie. Brilliant actors, without their skill this movie wouldn't have been interesting at all.
September 8, 2014
Molina and Guzman are always a pleasure to watch, otherwise not too much special here.
½ December 25, 2013
A refreshing holiday movie because its not all clichéd and sappy. Just a slice-of-life family drama involving an American Puerto Rican family who get together at Christmas and the siblings (amidst their own issues) discover that their parents are divorcing. Several fun storylines as we get to know all the adult children. I particularly enjoyed "Jesse" (Freddy Rodriguez) who has just returned from serving overseas and John Leguizamo and his executive "fish out of water" wife ( Debra Messing). The reoccurring problems with the tree removal were very funny. 12.22.13
December 23, 2013
I really liked this movie! I don't know if it's because it was genuinely good or if it's because I'm a sort-of-Rican or what, but it is an all around excellent movie. Boricuas rule!
December 16, 2013
With Christmas day steadily approaching, I thought I'd review one of my favorite holiday gems in the last decade or so. Nothing Like the Holidays is said gem and it somewhat gets by on the notion that my affection for it comes from the fact that I live in Chicago. The events depicted in this film take place in the Windy City's Humboldt Park neighborhood. And yes, it's a sentimental choice for me to recommend this thing because I've always been fascinated by the aspect of viewing something that took place and/or was shot so close to where I make my home. But even if it wasn't a product of a gloriously weathered Chi-town setting, I still would enjoy the lighthearted not to mention heartwarming feeling "Holidays" permeates over its short, underutilized running time. Now I can't say that this flick is perfect cause it's not (it comes off more as one of my favorite films, not one of the all time best films). However, it succeeds as an accurate, insightful look into family traditions that don't normally inhabit the setting of your everyday holiday themed vehicle. I say bravo to director Alfredo De Villa for taking special care of the source material in "Holidays" all the while creating some colorful, deep characterizations among the enthusiastically large cast. I'm hoping that this review is seen by enough people so that a teeny tiny cult following might arise. I'm also hoping that this happens even if it's my circle of friends or 10-20 random film buffs. Honestly, that would be okay by me.

Anyway, produced by the people that brought you the Barbershop movies and making extremely strong use of Chicago based locales, Nothing Like the Holidays categorizes the happenings of a Peurto Rican clan over a short weekend during Christmas time via a west side Chicago village. The Rodriguez family (a husband and wife along with three young adults as kids) is rooted in tradition and proudness in their heritage. They consist of John Leguizamo (Mauricio Rodriguez), Freddy Rodriguez (playing Jesse Rodriguez), Vanessa Ferlito (Roxanna Rodriguez), Alfred Molina (he plays the father who is Edy Rodriguez), and Elizabeth Pena (she plays the mother, Anna Rodriguez). Throughout the proceedings, these people invite other friends and relatives to their house for holiday fun and cheer. While there however, not everything is so peachy. Secrets are revealed, old relationships are rekindled, and traditions are exposed (all the citizens in the Humboldt Park area goes door to door and pick up everyone to do some Christmas caroling). You also have to be on the lookout for scenes involving a large tree that blocks the Rodriguez family view. This tree in my mind, seems to be a metaphor for the dynamics of the immediate family that has been talked about throughout this review. There are a couple of times in the movie where everyone helps to take the tree down. But to no avail, it's stays up and will not be removed. Again, I feel that this tree is a metaphoric expedition for everyone visiting the Rodriguez house. I'm not sure what that is exactly. And to tell you might not be the most valid answer. Anyway, the sequences involving it are pretty funny. If anything, they are flat out entertaining.

Despite its authentic, familiar setting, characters that mesh well, and direction by De Villa that feels genuine and personable, "Holidays" still seems to have been edited to the point where small plot holes arise. You watch certain scenes where there is feuding by friends of the Rodriguez family and the Rodriguez family themselves. Cut to the next sequence and everyone seems to be getting along. With dialogue that constantly exudes a strong conflict between husbands/wives, brothers/sisters, and friends/cousins, it's kinda weird when a feeling of resolution is missing and everyone goes back to jovial, happy times. Then there is the look of the film that suggests that its say, a small scale version of something like 1983's The Big Chill. Basically, Nothing Like the Holidays lacks that independent film making vibe which would constitute award consideration. And based on its short running time and slight TV feel, it doesn't come off as epic in scope as it should. All shortcomings aside, this is a warm, tiny little movie with a big heart. Added to that, you'll watch this thing realizing that the actors/actresses might have had a blast making it. In fact, I've seen the DVD cast reunion segment and it seems like everyone became friendly and close after filming concluded. To be honest, I can't say I'm surprised.

Overall, Nothing Like the Holidays is a flick that everyone should see come November and December. Its strongest attribute is having many character back stories that don't seemed to feel crammed into one movie. Every one's plight is told in a smart, held back sort of way. My favorite subplot doesn't even involved the main players in the cast. Jay Hernandez (Ozzie) playing a family friend to the Rodriguez family and trying desperately to romance the daughter in that family (Vanessa Ferlito as Roxy), also wants to avenge the death of his brother so he decides to go after the guy in the neighborhood who committed the crime and is out on parole. The scenes involving these two people divert from the comedic element in "Holidays" as well as the mild dramatic tone that involves everyone else. It's powerful stuff and it adds an element of danger in a sometimes all too comforting movie who's only other major sense of dread, is one of the family members having cancer (spoiler alert). In a sense though, the filmmakers don't overdo the barrage of plot points involved here even though there are almost too many to count.

Like I said earlier, this traditional and original exercise despite taking place in a frigid Chicago winter, is the warm equivalent of a steaming cup of hot cocoa. It's got a certain amount of wit and charm, characters that you cling to throughout, and an effortless amount of improvisation by the actors/actresses who play those characters. If you haven't seen "Holidays," I'm hoping that after reading this review, you'll check it out. It ain't "nothing" but good.
December 8, 2013
Luis Guzman is just one of the problems with this. It's just a dramedy with very little to do with the holidays. Not funny enough to be a comedy. Just not fun.
August 14, 2013
one of the dullest, worst movies I've ever seen. For a "comedy"/drama, it didn't muster up a half a chuckle from me.
March 10, 2013
866453124000000000000000000000 936455312486779867555342100000000000000000000000000000000000000000 548679867514231800000000000000000000000000000000000 73544132415000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 889786453124730000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 416453125867986753421423000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 2475641325180000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 51664531248867964537000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 645331245369786453124000000000000000000
January 8, 2013
This looks like a typical large family regardless of ethnic background!
½ January 3, 2013
This is a movie that should have been a TV series. It kept me just interested enough with the hundreds of story lines to keep watching until the end. I did love Luis Guzman's line about "Sorta Rican" though.
December 24, 2012
Hope
this doesn't come off wrong, but it's about time they bring out a Hispanic Christmas Movie I know it may sound funny but it's true. A Great Funny, Inspirational, Tradition, Celebrating The Holiday that sends the most message of all. Great Flick with alot of great Hispanics Actors.
½ December 15, 2012
As a movie it was decent to good. As a Christmas movie it was great. I have much lower standards for Christmas movies. I did enjoy it a good deal, though.
December 12, 2012
this movie is sooo funny
October 28, 2012
I didn't hate it but it's not my favorite type of movie. Too much of that family drama crap. I liked Freddy Rodriguez.

2008 Movies: 109
October 18, 2012
A heart warming x'mas tale about family relationships, with a Puerto Rican flavor!
Page 1 of 39