The Notorious Bettie Page - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Notorious Bettie Page Reviews

Page 2 of 66
½ February 21, 2013
Gretchen Mol drzi film jedva, inace je meeeeh. HBO you can do better.
½ February 15, 2013
Lacks the probing intimacy that such a biopic demands, only providing a surface look at Bettie Page's life and 1950s pornography. Still it is mildly entertaining and worth a watch for those longing for subdued nostalgia for a more innocent time.
½ February 11, 2013
Who the hell was Bettie Page other than some chick who liked to get naked?
½ January 31, 2013
Charmingly acted and oozing with style (and, of course, sexiness), it doesn't hit hard but it does entertain.
½ January 18, 2013
Gretchen Mol is excellent in this docudrama. Interesting to watch in today's atmosphere. Very engaging
Clintus M.
Super Reviewer
½ January 16, 2013
Gretchen Mol completely captures the essence of Bettie Page in this biopic; she's a naive beauty who accidentally becomes an underground sex symbol. This film successfully places Page in America's sexual more transformation during the 1950s. The writing and direction are excellent, bringing the story of this charming beauty to life. Page was completely unashamed of ber body and her controversial photos; she's innocent yet wicked at the same time.

Bettie Page was groundbreaking without realizing it. This film captures her innocent sweetness and unknowing naughty sexuality. While Page, with Irving Klaw and other photograthers, was groundbreaking, this film is not. It places her at the onset of the sexual revolution yet does not expound on that in any way. Its a straightforward story, not an in-depth sociological study.
January 15, 2013
Mol does a good job, but this film is only good in parts.
January 7, 2013
Nice use of black & white vs. color film. Always great to see Lili Taylor
December 25, 2012
its meeeee (my nickname is betty)this look cool
December 8, 2012
I've read complaints that this movie is "too wholesome" or "not edgy" enough. Apparently these people have not taken into consideration that Bettie Page's reign was during the 1950s, and by today's standards, even the most "hardcore" of illicit films and photography would have been mild. I thought this was a very well-made, entertaining film and I enjoyed it much more than I expected to.
cosmo313
Super Reviewer
November 30, 2012
Spanning from the 1930s-50s, this little indie film charts the life and career of legendary pinup model Bettie Page.

It's a really well-meaning, but ultimately shallow film, and that's unfortunate. I liked that the film was rather classy, and kept from being too raunchy and exploitative, but at the same time, it feels a little safe, and they probably could have been edgier but still kept it pretty tasteless. I think a lot of the reasons for why the film falls short is that it really doesn't take risks, and has a pretty sketchy script. The film doesn't really give a lot of insights into the characters, it really skirts around some important aspects of her past (like an abusive marriage, childhood abuse, and a gang rape), and fails to incorporate these things into how they affected Page's later life. There's also not much of a character arc either, so the fact that she gives her career up to become a born again Christian seems far more striking than it should. The film shows how Bettie was clearly religious, even when she did risque modeling, but doesn't really provide a strong answer for why she gave it up.

With that out of the way, I can get to the praises I have. The costumes, set design, art direction, and cinematography are absolutely brilliant. The era really comes alive in super faithful recreations. It's shot in gorgeous black and white, with some selective use of color that's been altered to make it too appear as if it's from the time period. Best of all has to be the wonderful recreations of the famous photos and video clips. The DVD features include a short film of the actual Bettie, and it is amazing how accurate the film captured her and the era.

Of course, a major part of that success has to do with the casting and acting. Gretchen Mol is Page, and she is absolutely wonderful, and this is probably going to be her career defining role, and that'd be just fine. She perfectly captures Bettie's warmth, sweetness, sassiness, and naivete (indeed, the real Page never saw what she did as bad, and always treated the shoots, especially the bondage stuff, as just silly fun and make believe). She has the look down pat, and is the real reason to see the film, even if it isn't an overall success. The rest of the cast is decent, though overshadowed by Mol. My favorites have to be Chris Bauer and Lili Taylor as brother and sister duo Irving and Paula Klaw- the respectable business owners who did fetish shoots on the side. Cara Seymour is likewise good as fellow model Maxie, but in the end, this is truly Mol's movie.

I did enjoy the movie, despite it's clear flaws and shortcomings. It does a lot of great things, even though it ultimately fails to totally satisfy. I sort of recommend it, if only for Mol and the technical stuff.
½ November 25, 2012
A decent biopic. Mol is endearing as Ms. Page.
½ November 5, 2012
Really well directed and acted.
½ November 3, 2012
A career-best performance by Gretchen Mol highlights this well-made account of the life of '50s nude pin-up girl Bettie Page. The wholesomeness here that some critics took exception to ( I guess depravity and sleaze must always go hand-in-hand with porn in their eyes) is kind of the point, given the pre-pornography era in which the story is set. This biopic doesn't dig deep into the personality of its subject, but as a very private person, Ms. Page probably wouldn't have wanted it that way. I'd argue the portrait is evident, though, if you pay attention.
October 24, 2012
A brilliant account of the notorious Bettie Page. She's adorable!
Critique Threatt
Super Reviewer
October 19, 2012
A good film by Mary Harron. Gretchen Mol does a fine job as the pin up queen Bettie Page. What amazes me is how Page was able to make the transition from being an erotic symbol to a devout Christian. The visuals is useful in it's use of b&w and beautiful use of the traditional Technicolor stock from the 1950's. Harron stays true to the period of the times and to the main character Bettie Page.
½ September 20, 2012
I'm a big bettie page fan and I use to draw flash art and apprentice to be a tattoo artist but one I use to draw pin ups it was always bettie and I got her tattooed on my are as my 2nd tattoo but this isn't about me this is about the movie

The movie is awesome they give bettie a voce and this by far is one of my favourite movie and should not be missed it's a good period peace and has a awesome cast

BUY
½ September 8, 2012
A bland film which could have been way provocative, considering the subject. Mol does a good job with the material she's given, but the overall narrative is weak and the script is poor.
September 3, 2012
Gave this one a re-watch off the To-Watch Pile and have to say that it holds up amazingly well, even if it has the danger of making me lose hours on the interwebs looking up the various players in her life, as well as vintage Bettie materials, because she was such a fox. All in all it is indeed an interesting look into the life of the pin-up queen, and Gretchen Mol is stunning as Bettie.

Well worth a look, recommended.
½ September 1, 2012
nice, sweet, funny and of course a bit sad.
Page 2 of 66