Now You See Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Now You See Me Reviews

Page 1 of 8
September 5, 2017
It's a fun set-up with a terrific cast - [Jesse] Eisenberg plays against type as a smooth-talking card trickster while [Woody] Harrelson radiates easy charm as a mentalist and serial flirt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 10, 2016
Force-fed magic is fun for a while, then it fizzles out along with our complicity to believe.
April 18, 2016
With the classic magician's tactic of misdirection, Now You See Me gets us to look at all the explosions, car crashes and pretty people while concealing that the magician's hat is empty and his cards are clearly marked.
Full Review | Original Score: 2 of 5
April 15, 2016
Like a car that all at once blows its transmission, loses power steering, succumbs to a flat tire, and catches fire, "Now You See Me" is a wreck in every sense of the word.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
September 10, 2013
Now You See Me is a slick crime caper that works because of its witty dialogue & large cast, but falls flat due to a finale that fails to leave any sort of magical impression
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 20, 2013
Clever, original, wildly improbable, wildly enjoyable and directed with all the necessary flash and dazzle, the film combines the pleasure of a well-engineered heist movie with a twisty-turny plot full of wit, double-takes and sleight-of-camera.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 15, 2013
This surprisingly witty, deliciously well-played and sneakily subversive outing from director Louis Letterier freaks out a little into its final act but, nevertheless, ranks as one of the year's most entertaining pics.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 12, 2013
Like a real magic show, Now You See Me is thoroughly entertaining for the most part, but is ultimately silly and substanceless.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 10, 2013
If you are going to avail yourself to two of hours slight of hand and slippery conjuring, you are going to have to be willing to believe the unbelievable to fully enjoy the show.
August 10, 2013
Abracadabra! The character development has vanished! But the flowers are still standing!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 7, 2013
The opening credits roll, the stage is set and then SHAZAM... all sense of logic magically disappears.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 4, 2013
Ocean's Eleven for Gen-Y; it's a 'pop heist movie' that's more concerned with looking cool than being it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 3, 2013
Seductive with its opening magic show delivering fabulous illusion, Now You See Me has a bit of Ocean's 11 at its heart. It's somewhat darker, and it's that darkness that gives it texture
August 3, 2013
A hugely enjoyable thriller, whose sleight of hand is both audacious and ambitious, Louis Leterrier's film is considerable in scale and daring
August 1, 2013
Hollywood bombast masquerading as something trickier.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 28, 2013
Now You See Me puts the fun back in being fooled.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 27, 2013
If you look at the film as escapist fare where you just go: 'My brain's off, you got a good cast, you got a good concept, roll with it' -- I think you'll be fine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 11, 2013
Audiences go to magic shows to get fooled, but that doesn't mean they want to leave feeling cheated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 10, 2013
The story moves jauntily toward its destination; the destination, unfortunately, is a disappointing wreck.
July 9, 2013
Surprisingly delightful audience entertainment, unburdened by overzealous special effects and loud soundtrack cues and driven by a story that, well, just likes the idea of being smart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 8