O Brother, Where Art Thou? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

O Brother, Where Art Thou? Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
December 29, 2000
I had the sense of invention set adrift; of a series of bright ideas wondering why they had all been invited to the same film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
December 18, 2000
The filmmakers' trademark quirkiness is in evidence, but it often feels forced and the comedic elements are inconsistent.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
January 12, 2001
Limps along like a classics professor shot in the kneecap by his tenure committee.
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
November 7, 2007
After making what are still probably their two best features, the Coen brothers came up with their worst, a piece of pop nihilism.
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
The Coen's tale of three escaped convicts has more to do with Homer the Simpson than Homer the poet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
July 22, 2009
The Coens are like party acquaintances who keep changing the subject and then staring at you quizzically when you can't follow the thread, or when you stop wanting to follow it, but who then block all your exit routes from their obnoxious conversation.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Susan Granger
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 1, 2000
There's a fundamental problem: a complete lack of humor. It's a comedy with no laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
David N. Butterworth
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 1, 2000
Oh, brother!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 1, 2000
It was amusing but could never get over its limitation -- a weak storyline.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Michael Atkinson
Mr. Showbiz
December 21, 2000
For all its originality, O Brother doesn't seem to have a point, or enough spark to distract us from the lack thereof.
| Original Score: 64/100
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
December 21, 2000
The art direction is impeccable, but this is a pop-up book that I was impatient to slam.
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
January 12, 2001
O Brother itself is just frustrating, mostly because we know what the Coens are capable of when truly inspired.
Chuck Rudolph
Matinee Magazine
December 14, 2000
The Coens' dark edges inevitably creep in and make the film just unpleasant enough to dislike.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jim Shelby
Palo Alto Weekly
May 20, 2003
As a big-budget film from two of our great contemporary social satirists, it falls short.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Kevin N. Laforest
Montreal Film Journal
September 10, 2002
I'll be darned. The Coen brothers, which many cinephiles (myself included) like to call the most exciting working American filmmakers, have just made a bad movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
December 8, 2000
The whole comes out less than the sum of its parts.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 1, 2000
I settled in for something eccentrically referential and amusing. What I got was a boring mess.
| Original Score: 6/10
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
This is a comedy in which I didn't laugh once nor did those around me.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Dave Kehr
Citysearch
December 21, 2000
A loose, sloppy affair that feels like it was written in one day before lunch.
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
December 22, 2000
The latest misanthropic flimflam from the Coen brothers, is like an extended Three Stooges episode featuring an even stupider version of the cast of Hee Haw.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Page 1 of 8