O Brother, Where Art Thou? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

O Brother, Where Art Thou? Reviews

Page 1 of 8
December 29, 2000
I had the sense of invention set adrift; of a series of bright ideas wondering why they had all been invited to the same film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 18, 2000
The filmmakers' trademark quirkiness is in evidence, but it often feels forced and the comedic elements are inconsistent.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 12, 2001
Limps along like a classics professor shot in the kneecap by his tenure committee.
November 7, 2007
After making what are still probably their two best features, the Coen brothers came up with their worst, a piece of pop nihilism.
July 14, 2007
The Coen's tale of three escaped convicts has more to do with Homer the Simpson than Homer the poet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 22, 2009
The Coens are like party acquaintances who keep changing the subject and then staring at you quizzically when you can't follow the thread, or when you stop wanting to follow it, but who then block all your exit routes from their obnoxious conversation.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 1, 2000
There's a fundamental problem: a complete lack of humor. It's a comedy with no laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
January 1, 2000
Oh, brother!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
It was amusing but could never get over its limitation -- a weak storyline.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 21, 2000
For all its originality, O Brother doesn't seem to have a point, or enough spark to distract us from the lack thereof.
Read More | Original Score: 64/100
December 21, 2000
The art direction is impeccable, but this is a pop-up book that I was impatient to slam.
January 12, 2001
O Brother itself is just frustrating, mostly because we know what the Coens are capable of when truly inspired.
December 14, 2000
The Coens' dark edges inevitably creep in and make the film just unpleasant enough to dislike.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 20, 2003
As a big-budget film from two of our great contemporary social satirists, it falls short.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
September 10, 2002
I'll be darned. The Coen brothers, which many cinephiles (myself included) like to call the most exciting working American filmmakers, have just made a bad movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 8, 2000
The whole comes out less than the sum of its parts.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 1, 2000
I settled in for something eccentrically referential and amusing. What I got was a boring mess.
| Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2000
This is a comedy in which I didn't laugh once nor did those around me.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 21, 2000
A loose, sloppy affair that feels like it was written in one day before lunch.
December 22, 2000
The latest misanthropic flimflam from the Coen brothers, is like an extended Three Stooges episode featuring an even stupider version of the cast of Hee Haw.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Page 1 of 8