The Object of My Affection - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Object of My Affection Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 26, 2009
The plot's hokey contrivances and the theatrical shtick tend to prevail over the sporadic moments of insight and emotional truth.
Top Critic
January 26, 2006
It never persuades you it belongs on the big screen.
April 9, 2005
The Object of My Affection is one of the best romantic comedies I've seen in ages.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 29, 2005
At the core... is the college dorm debate question: Can a man and a woman live and love together without sex? The answers ... in a typical dorm room are ... as interesting...
Read More | Original Score: C-
February 8, 2003
This is a tale of difficult choices and wistful decisions, of trying to choose between two types of love when only one is possible. It is touching without being sappy, and beautifully photographed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 15, 2002
Wendy Wasserstein's script endows the story with equal measures emotional pain and romantic buoyancy...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 18, 2002
The best romantic comedy so far this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 5, 2002
The forgettable sum does not equal the formidable parts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 31, 2002
Consegue se sobressair em meio a uma enxurrada de romancezinhos 'água-com-açúcar' que têm sido produzidos nos últimos tempos.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 24, 2002
When confronted with a film as relentlessly PC and romantically feel-good as The Object of My Affection, you eventually have to succumb.
March 2, 2002
Portrait of a determined young woman's attempt to create her own unique extended family.
February 13, 2002
Suggests a Nacho Cerda exploitation piece scored by the world's most optimistic organ grinder.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
February 27, 2001
Although the movie maintains a certain level of interest, at times it feels thoroughly scattershot, especially in dealing with its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Like other aspects of the movie, this portrait of urban life doesn't ring particularly true; but if Hollywood fantasy is what you're after, Hytner's romance is as watchable as most others this season.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
This comedy is content to enjoy the beguiling antics of Ms. Aniston, who is as skillful here as she is miscast, and to let its colorful minor characters give it a sitcom spin.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
While some of the solutions are a little facile, the film nevertheless succeeds, due in large part to a luminous performance by Jennifer Aniston...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
There is a movie fighting to get out of The Object of My Affection, and I like it better than the movie it's trapped in.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
the last hour becomes surprisingly complex
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 1, 2000
Aniston's less than substantial acting talents are put to the test by this role, and she just barely manages to keep her head above water.
Read More | Original Score: 69/100
January 1, 2000
At the film's center, Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd make a cute couple, but they're not much more than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 3