The Object of My Affection - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Object of My Affection Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 29, 2005
At the core... is the college dorm debate question: Can a man and a woman live and love together without sex? The answers ... in a typical dorm room are ... as interesting...
Read More | Original Score: C-
January 1, 2000
There is a movie fighting to get out of The Object of My Affection, and I like it better than the movie it's trapped in.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 14, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 26, 2009
The plot's hokey contrivances and the theatrical shtick tend to prevail over the sporadic moments of insight and emotional truth.
January 1, 2000
The shift in focus defuses what might have been fresh in the story.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
It's difficult to get an audience to root for disagreable protagonists in a love story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Emotional and comedic inconsistency plagues the movie's flow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Given what this film had going for it, I had high hopes. Unfortunately, all the good parts didn't add up to a great movie.
January 1, 2000
At the film's center, Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd make a cute couple, but they're not much more than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Director paces movie too languidly and dulls most of the emotional punches with the result being a film bordering too often on blandness when its strength is its risk taking.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Would-be comedy actually delivers very little in the chuckle department, runs way too long, musters up a weak ending, and offers nothing substantially original or thought-provoking to the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
January 1, 2000
Like other aspects of the movie, this portrait of urban life doesn't ring particularly true; but if Hollywood fantasy is what you're after, Hytner's romance is as watchable as most others this season.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
February 27, 2001
Although the movie maintains a certain level of interest, at times it feels thoroughly scattershot, especially in dealing with its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Aniston's less than substantial acting talents are put to the test by this role, and she just barely manages to keep her head above water.
Read More | Original Score: 69/100
January 1, 2000
The script is too easy. It uses broad strokes and lacks the subtlety that might have made the characters even more interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
As likable as Aniston and Rudd are, their respective movie presences have not yet developed to the degree that they can overcome the shortcomings of The Object of My Affection.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Paul Rudd is charming, and some of the scenes are intelligently written and played, but at a recent screening people on all sides of me were squirming in discomfort.
February 13, 2002
Suggests a Nacho Cerda exploitation piece scored by the world's most optimistic organ grinder.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
June 5, 2002
The forgettable sum does not equal the formidable parts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Every edit feels jarring, slamming scenes one into the other rather than letting them build to humorous high points.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Page 1 of 3