Observe and Report - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Observe and Report Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Justin Stewart
Stop Smiling
May 17, 2016
There's a general overbearing unpleasantness to Observe and Report, and you get the feeling this was the intention -- in order to make it more "like life."
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013
This movie has a clever idea - what if a mall cop truly believed he was society's last protector? - and then wraps it up in stylish sight gags and muffles the message by making Ronnie just a garden-variety, everyday bipolar depressive.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Adam Tobias
Watertown Daily Times
April 10, 2009
I am all for perverse and dark comedy, but is it too much to ask for it to actually be consistently funny?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Gina Carbone
Seacoast Newspapers (NH/Maine)
April 10, 2009
For people disappointed that Paul Blart didn't have more violence, booze, drugs, date rape, f-bombs, 'retarded' insults and full frontal penis shots.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Martin Tsai
Critic's Notebook
October 7, 2015
The film becomes almost nauseating, though, after serving up a steady diet of violence, drug use, racism and date rape.
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
April 10, 2009
Meet mall cop Paul Blart's evil, unfunny twin.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Nell Minow
Beliefnet
April 9, 2009
I have no affection for this movie but I have to admit to a grudging admiration for its willingness to be awkward, intrusive, and disturbing.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
April 9, 2009
[Director Jody] Hill can create only one sort of protagonist, and half the time he's stuck in a gray area between satirizing the firearms-obsessed, multidirectionally offensive Ronnie and embracing him.
| Original Score: 2/4
John P. McCarthy
Boxoffice Magazine
April 3, 2009
If it were funnier or remotely well made, you could take the beat down in stride, but writer/director Jody Hill has located the dark and mislaid the comedy, turning star Seth Rogen into a psychotic Barney Fife.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
April 8, 2009
If you would have told me that Kevin James and Seth Rogen would basically make the same movie and both would have come out the same, I wouldn't have believed you.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
April 10, 2009
Even for those who relish no-holds-barred humor, there's a point when the most outrageous, caustic comedy can slide from cutting and absurd to just plain mean.
| Original Score: D-
Matt Soergel
Florida Times-Union
September 10, 2009
As raunchy and as nihilistic as a two-minute punk song. It has its envelope-pushing rewards, at times .. but it tends to make its single-minded point over and over. After a short while, you begin to wonder: Is there anything on its mind? There isn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
April 8, 2009
If I could review the film in halves, I'd give the comedy act *** and the drama *.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 25, 2009
Observe and reject
Jolene Mendez
Entertainment Spectrum
April 7, 2009
This mall cop makes Paul Blart look good, and that's not saying much.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
April 10, 2009
A few of the less repeatable lines hit their marks, but the whole affair has the pasty-faced desperation of shoppers trapped in fluorescent light.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Joanna Langfield
The Movie Minute
April 7, 2009
Ronnie, in the vernacular of movie icons, is Travis Bickle meets Paul Blart: which made me miss Borat all the more.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Tim Grierson
Screen International
March 19, 2009
Watching Observe And Report is like babysitting a hyperactive boy -- it's precocious, unpredictable and amusing in small stretches, but after a while you wish it would settle down and focus.
Ben Rawson-Jones
Digital Spy
April 24, 2009
Dark, subversive and politically incorrect humour can be brilliant in capable hands and with the right purpose (like the wonderful South Park), but here it's offensively bereft of any wit and is simply unpleasant.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Vic Holtreman
ScreenRant
January 27, 2010
Page 1 of 11