October Sky - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

October Sky Reviews

Page 2 of 4
January 1, 2000
Believable, subtle, and consistently intelligent!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
This movie has deep values.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
A real-life Revenge of the Nerds with a touch of Stand by Me.
January 1, 2000
The plot follows the usual formula, so that were it a rocket, one could predict within a matter of feet where it would land.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
I love movies at the end of which, as the credits roll and the lights come up, I'm sobbing my eyes out and smiling and declaring, "That was a great movie!" all at the same time. I needed two hankies at the end of October Sky.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
January 1, 2000
Fun and amusing!
January 1, 2000
This is one of those special films that's equally successful as a wholesome family film and an inspiring drama for adults.
Read More | Original Score: 83/100
January 1, 2000
A professionally crafted family film that reserves all its challenging moments for its characters, letting the audience bask comfortably in the approach of a predetermined warm and fuzzy ending.
January 1, 2000
Read it as sublimated or expressionist, the movie is all about boys and their toys.
January 1, 2000
October Sky is a rare oddity in cinema: a self-proclaimed "uplifting" film that is actually uplifting!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
October Sky certainly isn't a great movie, but a pleasant one, and one I can recommend -- which, so far, in 1999, is a wonder in itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
It's a major step-up for director Joe Johnston whose previous films such as Honey I Shrunk The Kids and Jumanji were simply special effects showcases.
January 1, 2000
I liked October Sky and was moved by it in all the right ways. But it's a movie that doesn't stand up to review very well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
...one heck of a crowd pleaser, filled with humor, pathos, and intelligence.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
It is a film that treats its teen-aged hero and his pals as distinctive, sentient human beings.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
There's hope, heroism, and Dern as a dying schoolmarm, but October Sky falls flat due to its all-too-obvious third act and the vague fact that, really, not that much happens.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
October Sky is a sensational character-driven story with a strong narrative and great visual style.
January 1, 2000
Even if October Sky was a complete dud, the drama would still get points for being the movie that launched the career of a new star, Jake Gyllenhaal.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Secretly, this is a movie about overcoming adversity and fatherly love, and the sentiment is heaped on so high you can't help but shed a tear.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
January 1, 2000
October Sky is exactly the sort of Hollywood picture we need to see more often: cleanly written, capably filmed, and focused on a young person who's determined to turn his life in constructive, creative directions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 4