October Sky - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

October Sky Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
Believable, subtle, and consistently intelligent!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
This movie has deep values.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4

E! Online
January 1, 2000
A real-life Revenge of the Nerds with a touch of Stand by Me.
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
January 1, 2000
The plot follows the usual formula, so that were it a rocket, one could predict within a matter of feet where it would land.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
January 1, 2000
I love movies at the end of which, as the credits roll and the lights come up, I'm sobbing my eyes out and smiling and declaring, "That was a great movie!" all at the same time. I needed two hankies at the end of October Sky.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Jim Judy
Screen It!
January 1, 2000
Fun and amusing!
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
January 1, 2000
This is one of those special films that's equally successful as a wholesome family film and an inspiring drama for adults.
| Original Score: 83/100
Top Critic
Gary Dauphin
Village Voice
January 1, 2000
A professionally crafted family film that reserves all its challenging moments for its characters, letting the audience bask comfortably in the approach of a predetermined warm and fuzzy ending.
Cynthia Fuchs
Philadelphia City Paper
January 1, 2000
Read it as sublimated or expressionist, the movie is all about boys and their toys.
Madeleine Williams
Cinematter
January 1, 2000
October Sky is a rare oddity in cinema: a self-proclaimed "uplifting" film that is actually uplifting!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Greg Muskewitz
eFilmCritic.com
January 1, 2000
October Sky certainly isn't a great movie, but a pleasant one, and one I can recommend -- which, so far, in 1999, is a wonder in itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
January 1, 2000
It's a major step-up for director Joe Johnston whose previous films such as Honey I Shrunk The Kids and Jumanji were simply special effects showcases.
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
January 1, 2000
I liked October Sky and was moved by it in all the right ways. But it's a movie that doesn't stand up to review very well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Elias Savada
Nitrate Online
January 1, 2000
...one heck of a crowd pleaser, filled with humor, pathos, and intelligence.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
January 1, 2000
It is a film that treats its teen-aged hero and his pals as distinctive, sentient human beings.
| Original Score: 4/4
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
There's hope, heroism, and Dern as a dying schoolmarm, but October Sky falls flat due to its all-too-obvious third act and the vague fact that, really, not that much happens.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Paul Tatara
CNN.com
January 1, 2000
October Sky is a sensational character-driven story with a strong narrative and great visual style.
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
Even if October Sky was a complete dud, the drama would still get points for being the movie that launched the career of a new star, Jake Gyllenhaal.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
January 1, 2000
Secretly, this is a movie about overcoming adversity and fatherly love, and the sentiment is heaped on so high you can't help but shed a tear.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
David Sterritt
Christian Science Monitor
January 1, 2000
October Sky is exactly the sort of Hollywood picture we need to see more often: cleanly written, capably filmed, and focused on a young person who's determined to turn his life in constructive, creative directions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 4