Oh My God - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Oh My God Reviews

Page 1 of 1
November 8, 2009
In Oh My God, those who disagree with the party line are summarily contradicted.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
November 13, 2009
One reaches the conclusion fairly early in Rodger's gorgeously photographed but obnoxiously quick-cut-edited film that the question "What is God?" has no satisfactory nor universally agreeable answers.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 4, 2009
Oh My God is a documentary in the Michael Moore/essay mold, and by "Michael Moore/essay" I mean "annoying blowhard who will not shut up."
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
November 30, 2009
There's nothing new unearthed in this film. The religious adherent won't have their mind changed, and the person who isn't sure what they believe won't find any help here, either.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 10, 2009
The drubbing score leaves one nearly insensate to the fact that Rodgers has nothing original or even interesting to say about his subject, flattening fine points of scripture to recommend interfaith group hugs.
November 12, 2009
The one thing many people seem to agree on is that whatever they feel for God, they can't really explain it. How revealing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 11, 2009
British commercial photographer Peter Rodger took his camera -- and a crew to document him using his camera -- around the world like a well-connected dilettante, asking people the uselessly vague question ''What is God?''
Full Review | Original Score: D
November 13, 2009
Hearing snoring from behind me at a screening the other day, I looked around and noticed four people had dozed off during the prettily photographed, boring vanity project that is Oh My God?
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
November 13, 2009
[A] picturesque but shallow inquiry into the meaning of God.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 13, 2009
While beautiful photography of the faraway lands Rodger visits and crisp editing keep the movie flowing at a fast pace, Oh My God remains a hit-and-miss collection of interviews that fail to create a single, compelling message.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 29, 2009
Some of the talking heads say entertaining or thoughtful things and some of the locations are quite exotic. But does this justify 98 minutes of screen time?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 11, 2009
The musings of celebrities like Seal and Ringo Starr are given prominence over those of religious leaders and scholars, while a relentless Moby-esque soundtrack subsumes each insight into a sonic miasma of theism.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 12, 2009
Compacts nearly three years' worth of globe-trotting interviews into an often visually vibrant but rhetorically muddled package.
November 13, 2009
Scattershot documentary about the meaning of God won't win any converts.
December 3, 2009
A mashup of slick tourist photos, a cacophony of contradictory sound bites yielding zero insight. Watching this disorganized essay on organized religion may actually make you stupider.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
November 14, 2009
Provocative, captivating and profoundly illuminating. You'll be talking about it for weeks.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
November 13, 2009
A gorgeously filmed documentary that takes us to 23 countries and conveys the diverse paths to God in the world's major religions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 10, 2009
At its best, Oh My God strikes a long-forgotten chord that seems to sing: All you need is love. (And Ringo Starr shows up to underscore the point.)
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 13, 2009
Peter Rodger does a fairly comprehensive job of traversing the globe in 98 minutes, posing the age-old question, "What is God?"
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 1