Old School - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Old School Reviews

Page 2 of 960
½ August 18, 2015
The premise was there, the laughs were not.
½ August 13, 2015
Walked out of this and have seen much fewer Will Farrell movies as a result.
½ July 27, 2015
The premise is somewhat original, it's the execution of it that's really good. The chemistry between all the main characters in the movie is very good too they all really work well together. Honestly you can't go wrong with Will Farrel as the crazy energetic one of the bunch. Not too many laugh out loud moments but the whole situation is pretty comedic.
July 24, 2015
its a classic. GO BLUE!!
July 24, 2015
Filled to the brim with great one liners. Pop open a beer and enjoy.
July 15, 2015
Will Ferrell, Vince Vaughn, and Luke Wilson. Just from the cast, you knew that this would be fantastic. A mix of very raunchy comedy, and surprisingly great story. This is a must see for pretty much anyone who enjoys comedies. Mitch, is one of my favorite characters in this movie. He's pretty much the brains of the group. He is funny at times, but he mainly solves all of the problems in this film. Frank is hilarious! When he goes streeking that is his best part by far! I think he is the funniest in this ill by far. He knows how to lighten the mood. Beanie was...well...I'm not sure what to say about him. He is the only one with a child. He has is moments like the earmuffs. That is freaking funny as all get out! But other than that part he is just a...a floater. He floats around the group of people.
In the end this is a great raunchy comedy. If you like stupid but great laugh movies-this is for you.
½ June 30, 2015
Great Will Ferrell movie is only for adults! Ages 15+
½ June 28, 2015
Enough moments for a watch but not the classic it's made out to be.
½ June 18, 2015
YOU'RE MY BOY BLUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
½ June 11, 2015
Hilarious! It doesn't beat its similar movie, Animal House, but it sure is funny. Old School makes you miss college like crazy.
½ May 29, 2015
Still one of the best!
April 26, 2015
I can watch this movie a million times, and still laugh out loud consistently throughout. I love the cast and characters and the film takes advantage of the strengths of its leads.
April 12, 2015
"Old School" is one of those rare cases where you got the hilarious plot, great cast and a capable director...and it all works to make classic comedy gold. This is one of the funniest comedies of the "00's" and one of my personal favorites. Highly recommended! A-
March 30, 2015
Ferrell's first big break into the genre is a a comedic time-bomb that as soon as you see him appear it explodes. Vaughn is great as well and Jeremy Piven brings his usual smarmy acting to the villain role.
March 17, 2015
Old school is a stupid comedy that thrives on not taking itself seriously, and holds so much fun on, and guessingly off screen. Every comedic actor had amazing chemistry with each other, and all it seemed to do is magnify the comedic value and delivery of many of the scenes. Old School is an immature ball of fun and delight, leaving plenty of room to enjoy, and not enough for thinking, which in this case works. Alluding to the greatness of Animal House, Old School will always play to the funny bone with ease.
March 15, 2015
Loved it!! Good story line, good characters, good acting. Many, many funny parts. Guy movie. YOUR MY BOY BLUE!!
March 7, 2015
Awesome comedy that gets better every time you watch it.
March 5, 2015
Old School is worth a couple good laughs, but its nowhere near as funny as the next Wilson/Ferrell/Vaughn outing Wedding Crashers.
January 28, 2015
Grade:High 6/10

Old school is a funny movie with a funny cast, maybe not the funniest
movie ever but with a nice plot and a film that doesn't have to make
you laugh to be good, this is worth a watch. I did think maybe I
overrated this at first but the film is actually pretty good with some
nice jokes added into an ever revealing storyline, and with some
physical comedy actors to go, this is film has quality. I felt the film
was Solidly OK and here below is why I felt that about it all.

The story is a college fraternity type film, and you may be thinking "
we have had this all before" ,but this has a twist, the main characters
aren't college students, they have jobs, families and they never get to
party, well until now. The pacing is good, the movie not too long and
the although the jokes aren't a plenty and takes along time for the
first funny thing to be said, it still manages to be kind of funny by
the end. The story end's in a smart way as well with hints of more high
school films coming in but it still remains the working dad's and there
house.

Luke Wilson, Will Ferrell and Vince Vaughn are the main guys in this
and without them I would have rated this poor, although none of them
are at comedy best, they still manage to churn out a respectfully funny
performance. I did enjoy there support too and the characters that hang
around there house are all fun guys, I didn't quite appreciate the
acting of the Dean Jeremy Piven, but he doesn't ruin it too much at
all.

Todd Phillips in a sense runs the whole thing and contributes to the
script but also directs, and I felt without the firm direction of
Phillips, the film would suffer more so hats off to his contribution to
the film. Some funny stunts they do can be hilarious and make you
genuinely chuckle, one such part is at Vince Vaughn's sons birthday
party when Ferrell(MAYBE A SPOILER HERE FOR SOME) get's well, darted by
a zoo keeper and I won't ruin the sequence but it made me laugh more
than at any other time in the movie.

The film's main bad point is that it isn't all THAT funny and jokes do
occasionally miss the mark badly, it doesn't make this film bad at all
but contributes to it's lower mark. I also felt maybe the characters
could have put more back into it as although they are funny, people
such as Ferrell should be much more funny and do a lot more of what we
have seen before of him. Finally the script isn't all so solid but I
won't mention too much about it because that would just drag it right
down, which is doesn't deserve.

I think those into these kind of early 2000's college comedies should
enjoy and although it is a different type crudeness wise to things like
American Pie and such (mainly because they main characters are mature
adults), it may not please everyone, but should overall. Same again for
people who shouldn't watch, the film isn't afraid of being itself and
letting it's hormones go so if you dislike crude, better stay away.

Overall I give it a high 6/10 meaning it is Solidly a OK movie but offers very
little more than this, my rating is stretching it to it's highest
point, maybe I felt nice on the day. If you a teen watch it because it
has all the hallmarks of teen moves today, but another thing is if you
were a teen or in college in the early 2000's, it should be a massive
nostalgic trip back to them day's, oh and might make you laugh.
January 23, 2015
Boring as hell. Not funny.
Page 2 of 960