On the Road - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

On the Road Reviews

Page 3 of 30
½ July 6, 2014
At first you feel as if the story will just wander aimlessly as the protagonists do. Then it leaves you with a kick to the gut as you learn the fate of one character in particular. A character not unlike someone you may have known, a character not unlike, perhaps, yourself.
½ July 6, 2014
Not sure why they decided to fuck off so much of Dean's story (relative to how it was in the book). I guess that's just to be expected of film adaptations. I could have done with out watching this, and only knowing Kerouac's original work.
½ July 6, 2014
Going to have to agree with the critics here. I thought this movie is going to be great but went downhill the first 30 minutes
2.5 Stars
June 20, 2014
Too dull and Walter Salles made a bad decision in casting Kristen Stewart in his film.
½ June 19, 2014
this did not translate well into film. i stopped watching halfway through.
June 15, 2014
They have significantly changed the plot from the book! To me, this ruins the movie - makes it worthless. The film already lacks, with a few brief exceptions, what makes the book worthwhile, that is its poetic language. There are a few spots of narration when we get Kerouac's poetic writing, and that is nice. So to me, seeing the movie was about the plot, and they fundamentally destroyed that.

From the first line (the first line!) they change the plot by the narrator (Sal/Kerouac) saying, "I first met Dean not long after my father died." The book, on the other hand, says, "I first met Dean not long after my wife and I split up." And this divergence from the true author's plot is repeated later in the film when we see Sal typing the book on a scroll he created and it is the wrong (the movie) version.

Why would they do such a thing? I can only conclude that it is to support the other changes they have made to the plot. The film that follows is full of gay activity, not just surrounding Carlo who is gay in the book, (and who represents Allen Ginsberg, whom we know to be gay), but between Dean and Sal to a limited extent, and between Dean and Allen and others to a greater extent. It kind of seemed like a soft gay porno at times. I recommend reading the book instead.
½ May 25, 2014
Incredibly bad. I'm not sure how anyone can really adapt On The Road into a movie without it lacking in some way. I really did not like the portrayal of the characters, again i'm trying to say to myself "don't compare it to the book" but i can't help myself. Whoever thought Sam Riley was any good as Jack Kerouac? Sometimes there are faces that just call to be at the end of a fist. The book is such an all over the place mess (that i very much enjoyed) that any movie would feel exactly the same, which is not interesting to watch nor does it have the same value and experience one gets when reading. So...no thanks.
½ May 23, 2014
Read the book a long time ago but couldnt really make sense of the movie. A shame really coz the book is excellent.
May 8, 2014
Visually, it's a good movie. The actors do a fine job at portraying the characters. It's a good film to look at, but overall, something is lacking. It feels almost as if no moral is intended with this movie and it's all so dull.
May 6, 2014
That was a movie? It was trashy and cheap. Kristen Stewart looked and played the role of a drug attic. It's not like we haven't seen her do that before.
May 3, 2014
I own this on DVD and Blu-Ray.
½ May 3, 2014
I like this film.There is a plaintive mood.
½ April 1, 2014
As a fan of Kerouac, I expected a drab boring film, much like every other Kerouac film I've seen (see the last time I committed suicide) however, I was impressed with the actors they chose for the leads, and Kristen Stewart is unforgettable as Marilou. The film was a little long, and I expected it to stick to the novel a bit more, but in all, I'm impressed.
½ March 16, 2014
Dumb stupid nothing but sex scenes,
½ March 12, 2014
I really enjoyed this novel because of the power and emotions the writer and his friends went through during the late 1940's to early 1950's. Very anger that this film didn't focus on the emotions and thought processing of the main Character Sal, let alone skip the chapters of Finding Deans fathers and exploring the Mexican culture of the 1950's. As well the inspiration, and energy, that was given to the reader after finishing Jack's book. Overall; Amazing novel, very disappointing film. 1.5/5
March 9, 2014
omg it was so good i loved it :)
½ February 22, 2014
So much potential, just fell very short.
February 21, 2014
was good liked hot extreme content
February 15, 2014
Boring, tiring, not interesting.
Page 3 of 30