One Missed Call - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

One Missed Call Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 4, 2008
Pity this most mysterious 'Can you hear me now?' of all is spoiled by too many answers to too many questions.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 6, 2008
The worst part about this movie is that, even though it's impossible to piece everything together logically, it's easy to see where it's going because there's nothing new here. There's a sameness to all these Japanese-turned-American retreads.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 7, 2008
Drastically under-produced, One Missed Call is so tedious that Alexander Graham Bell would have difficulty staying awake. Those vigilant Verizon Wireless techies from the commercials would be fired for napping on the job.
August 28, 2015
It's not even remotely scary, which leaves the horror fans out. But it's also way too boring to even poke fun at.
July 23, 2008
For a would-be frightfest built around a supernatural premise, One Missed Call is so glum and businesslike that it's not nearly as much pulpy fun as it should be.
April 23, 2009
The unintentional camp makes for some eye-rolling interest early on, and French director Eric Valette does manage a few hair-raising moments, but by then, the movie has missed by a mile.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 4, 2008
Laughable, not screamable.
January 8, 2008
Borrowing from this bottomless well, perhaps it's best to say that you should hang up, turn off your phone or even cancel your service should this film attempt to reach out and touch you.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 8, 2008
Those coming to One Missed Call in search of ground-breaking horror have definitely dialed the wrong number.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 4, 2008
Takeshi Miike's original 2003 One Missed Call was second-rate techno-phobic J-horror tripe, meaning that Eric Valette's even lousier American remake is something like the next generation of suck.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
January 4, 2008
More useless than bad, the type of thing that will divert your attention for an hour and a half but nothing more.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 4, 2008
Oooooh, a cell phone that kills! Really? Wow! Some people might find that creepy, but it's just silly isn't it?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 24, 2008
The first major release of the year is a complete dud. Shocker!
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
January 4, 2008
Call is the first major motion picture release of 2008, in charge of setting the tone for the lengthy year to come. My friends, the future does not look promising. In fact, it feels like a swift kick to the groin.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
January 17, 2008
...just another English-language remake of yet another incomprehensible Japanese horror movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 7, 2008
The best part of the movie is the fact that, at a running time of an hour and a half, it's mercifully short.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
January 8, 2008
Shannyn Sossamon and Edward Burns give performances that qualify as languorous even on the heavily left-shifted bell curve with which we grade horror film acting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
January 5, 2008
If the first wide release movie of 2008 is an indicator of the kind of year a writers' strike Hollywood has in store, we may all be watching DVDs.
Full Review | Original Score: D
January 4, 2008
I staunchly refuse to be afraid of my cell phone, or at least if I'm going to be afraid of it, I need better reasons than the ones given in this.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 10, 2008
While director Eric Valette fails to do anything with the derivative plot or the interesting cast, he manages an unusual, appealingly quiet tone.
Page 1 of 4