Ong-Bak (Ong Bak: Muay Thai Warrior) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ong-Bak (Ong Bak: Muay Thai Warrior) Reviews

Page 1 of 6
February 14, 2005
I think you have to hang a plot and some suspense around this. It was just so dopey and so endless and so repetitive. The guy's got talent, but thumbs down for this movie.
August 24, 2006
Just a showcase for Jaa's athletic abilities.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 18, 2005
Tony Jaa has grace, style as a fighter, stunt man, but (he) can do better than Ong-Bak.
Full Review | Original Score: w.5/4
February 11, 2005
After a while, a punch is a punch is a punch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 11, 2005
While Tony Jaa is bad in a good way, Ong Bak is bad in a bad way.
Read More | Original Score: C
February 10, 2005
...a horrible, amateurish, barely-engaging little film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 3, 2005
Jaa's moves are impressive, but the choreography ranges from bland to ridiculous (as when one dirty fighter resorts to using major appliances as weapons).
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 10, 2005
I have the feeling we'll be hearing from Tony Jaa again.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 9, 2005
Tony Jaa doesn't possess the authority of Lee, the charisma of Chan or the intensity of Li, though he does project the same sleepy-eyed blandness as Van Damme.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 11, 2005
For every moment that inspires vocal awe, there are two or three moments that produce groans.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 11, 2005
Vile, humorless, distasteful, sickening.
Read More | Original Score: 0/4
February 11, 2005
Nearly every impressive stunt is repeated in slow motion from a different camera angle, and we get to see the most eye-popping ones three times. Thus a tightly edited, 90-minute action flick becomes a bloated, 105-minute exercise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 11, 2005
The opening scene is best, of men combatively climbing a huge tree like crazed monkeys. After that, it's a steady slide down into the sludge pond of global junk cinema.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 11, 2005
Jaa's screen time is largely about athletics, not building a character.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 4, 2005
Ong Bak is not very good -- but Hollywood suits would be nuts not to give Jaa a role in every action flick they make from now on.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
February 10, 2005
I defy anyone to see this film in a crowded theater and not get caught up in the energy and the excitement.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
February 11, 2005
I sat through the movie impressed at how real the action sequences seemed. Then I went to the Web site, and discovered that they were real.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 10, 2005
Jaa is an electrifying performer and the movie is primarily designed to show off what he does best.
Read More | Original Score: B+
March 9, 2005
Get a load of this guy, the way he leaps over cars, slides under SUVs. Experience the man bringing the pain and unleashing wrath. Gaze with wide eyes at his jackhammer fists.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 6