Only When I Dance (Vida Ballet) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Only When I Dance (Vida Ballet) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ July 13, 2013
Great documentary! Very moving!
February 23, 2013
this a great doc......
April 17, 2012
De uma das favelas do Complexão do Alemão para o Boston Ballet em 2011. Essa (C) a trajetória de muito sacrifício de Irlan Silva (Irlan dos Santos Silva) e sua família, juntamente com o apoio de Mariza Estrela. O filme tamb (C)m mostra a trajetória mais sofrida ainda da família de Isabela Coracy. Ambos foram alunos do Centro de Dança Rio e, mais que isso, são negros e pobres. Worth watching.
March 30, 2012
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful
½ February 18, 2012
I really wanted to like this, and the characters are endearing. As far as documentaries go, though, it's not very well done.
½ May 31, 2011
Beautiful story...just like Billy Elliot but with Billy Elliot more emotions were involved. Enjoyable however. Dance truly changes lives and I'm happy for this young man.
January 4, 2011
A very passionate film/documentary, about some very talented and hard-working young people, working for their dream, working for their way out of poverty and bad side of town....

They can dance, and it's wonderful to see all these children come to life when they dance and see how they bring joy and smile to others as well.
October 4, 2010
excellent doc...moving and inspiring : )
May 13, 2010
Im going to watch this movie tonite. For my brazilian friends, specially people from Rio, I highly reccomend it.
Super Reviewer
½ March 27, 2010
Pretty standard dance competition documentary following two talented young dancers from poor backgrounds in Rio who battle impossible odds for a chance to pursue their dream abroad. The stories are extraordinary and filled with inherent emotion, but the film is edited in such a way that it fails to capitalize on that, and one story outweighs the other both in terms of screen time and overall success. In the end, i lacks dramatic tension and narrative drive.
½ November 28, 2009
The dance sequences in Beadie Finzi's new documentary are among the most compelling ever filmed, perhaps because entire lives depend upon them... Finzi knows exactly how to shoot dance: in medium-long shot, cutting only to accentuate movement or highlight a particular part of the performer's physique, and rarely during the audition pieces, allowing the physical and narrative tensions to build and dissipate organically. (Of course, it helps that Irlan and Isabela are so skilled they present their director with very little to have to cut around.) Without ever intruding, the camera always seems to be in the right spot dramatically, too. In a group performance just after Isabela has been reduced to tears by a disappointing individual result, her friends and colleagues prance off to the wings one by one, allowing their teammate to hold centre-stage, and receive the audience's applause, with a smile: this once, at least, she is the last girl pirouetting.
October 8, 2009
a very moving and powerful documentary guaranteed to bring a tear (or two) to your eyes, but also has some comical scenes with the dance teacher and the two teenagers parents. I was absolutely delighted to get a ticket for this sold out film at the Barbican Centre and even more so that one of the dancers - Isabela Coracy made an appearance for a Q&A afterwards. An incredible story about two incredible and completed dedicated individuals. They both had dreams and did not stop in their very very difficult journeys to get there......
July 1, 2009
i want to see this movie.. lol
July 1, 2009
not even slightly interested
June 30, 2009
This looks like an amazing story!
Page 1 of 1