Only the Strong - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Only the Strong Reviews

Top Critic
Steve Rhodes
Chicago Tribune
June 17, 2014
The cinematography is jarring and dizzying at times; the acting mediocre.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Brian Lowry
Variety
March 26, 2009
Only the simple-minded will find much to cheer in this martial arts actioner, which has the queasy feel of a movie slapped together by the marketing department.
Top Critic
Brian Case
Time Out
January 26, 2006
A paean to the Brazilian martial art of capoeira harks back to those break-dancing quickies.
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
May 20, 2003
A movie that exists solely for its fight sequences and to show off its star's muscles and gymnastic grace.
Top Critic
Joe Brown
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
The film is clumsily assembled and edited, heavy on the slow-mo, and its simplistic story plays like The Kids From Fame armed with very sharp knives.
Top Critic
Richard Harrington
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
If only the plot were a little less obvious, the confrontations a little less cliched.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
I expected it to be an obligatory late-summer, mindless, plotless action film. I was wrong. It's a late-summer, mindless, plotless action film with a message. I think I prefer this sorts of film when it doesn't try to preach.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
I have a sinking feeling that the makers of this film feel it is in some way exemplary and even useful.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4