OSS 117: Rio ne répond plus (Lost in Rio) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

OSS 117: Rio ne répond plus (Lost in Rio) Reviews

Page 2 of 3
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
May 10, 2010
Director Michel Hazanavicius loves his sublimely naive bigot, and so do we
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Doris Toumarkine
Film Journal International
May 10, 2010
Hilarious, often silly French hit is the latest in a franchise that spoofs the James Bond brand, in the spirit of "Get Smart" and the Pink Panther films. The Yank audience is out there, but can it be uncovered?
Top Critic
Mike Hale
New York Times
May 7, 2010
Mr. Dujardin, a skilled comedian, deftly embodies the spy's combination of cluelessness and condescension, but it's an act that eventually wears thin.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest
May 7, 2010
A winning spoof of the earlier 007 films...liberally peppered with funny bon mots and character bits.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
May 7, 2010
I don't know about you, but I look to French films for stylish love stories and potent social dramas. I definitely don't look to Gallic movies for slapstick comedy, a genre at which the French are especially bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
May 7, 2010
A very funny French comedy of a variety that usually doesn't make its way here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
May 6, 2010
I don't know that we actually need Agent OSS 117, but the world is a slightly better place with him around. And the film itself is a harmless trifle -- make that truffle, chocolate of course.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Tasha Robinson
AV Club
May 6, 2010
In fitful bursts, Lost In Rio reaches further than its predecessor, delving into a loopy absurdism.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
May 5, 2010
This is like a subpar Naked Gun feature cooked up by Eisenstein and Godard during a drug-addled lost weekend. Where's Leslie Nielsen when you need him?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Michelle Orange
City Pages, Minneapolis/St. Paul
May 4, 2010
It is Dujardin who wins the day -- and eventually, of course, the gimlet-eyed girl -- as the perfect, preening fool.
Joseph Jon Lanthier
Slant Magazine
May 4, 2010
Lost in Rio wins giggles only when rubbing its spy milieu up against sheer randomness, but the sight of Dujardin's self-absorbed mug carving up a rubber crocodile for survivalist sustenance can only do so much.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
May 4, 2010
Spouting enough racist and anti-Semitic platitudes to incite unrest across the planet, this knockoff Bond's sheer delight is sorting out sinister political grossout swipes and brutal historical truths, from all the just plain silly fun.
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
May 2, 2010
Bolstering its rejuvenation of the '60s French spy spoof franchise, this sequel to "OSS 117: Cairo Nest of Spies" (2006) walks a fine line of non-politically correct comedy that grabs precarious laughs just before the gags hit the floor.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
April 29, 2010
What's really lost in Rio is the participants' sense of humor.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Wade Major
Boxoffice Magazine
April 23, 2010
May well be the second funniest spy spoof ever made.
| Original Score: 4/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
January 15, 2010
Less raucous than CAIRO, NEST OF SPIES, this new adventure for the suave but bigoted French super-agent is still extremely good fun, with its amusing script, hilarious characters and astonishingly detailed production design.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kim Newman
Empire Magazine
January 15, 2010
Atmospheric, with authentic 60s/70s capering all over Brazil.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Wally Hammond
Time Out
January 15, 2010
It's the grooving to composer Ludovic Bource's fab xylophone beats and Dujardin's hyena laugh and heroic self-regard you'll remember.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ben Machell
Times (UK)
January 15, 2010
Not only is it funny, it looks and feels fantastic, thanks to its duplication of the breezily kitsch cinematography and direction of Sixties spy flicks, right down to the Technicolor wash.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
January 15, 2010
Just as before, I found myself grinning sheepishly when I wasn't laughing, though the gags are less plentiful than before. This naughty, silly and wildly non-PC film, looks to me easily the equal of the Clouseau adventures.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 2 of 3