OSS 117: Rio ne répond plus (Lost in Rio) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

OSS 117: Rio ne répond plus (Lost in Rio) Reviews

January 3, 2011
All this is mighty silly, but there's something to be said for watching a French movie that, for a change, isn't about l'amour, existential angst, or madness.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 1, 2010
The tenor, tone and immaculately lampooned art direction often make up for shtick that gradually grows thin in the belly-laugh department.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 24, 2010
It's generally friendly and enjoyable, but it sags a bit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 17, 2010
Strutting around like a rooster in a thin-lapeled suit, 117 isn't much different from other comic Bond figures, but the movies find a fresh and exceedingly rich vein of comedy in his airy sexism, racism, and colonialism.
June 10, 2010
The story is lame and the action is flaccid, but as Hubert would be the first to tell you, the French have a word for those who can't take a joke: c'est la vie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 10, 2010
I sort of liked the 2006 film, and I sort of like this one, too. I may like it a little more, because Dujardin grows on you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 20, 2010
A reasonably pleasant surprise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 20, 2010
It's larky, snarky fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 13, 2010
The part is tricky, but Jean Dujardin does it well, greeting every woman with a cocky Jean-Paul Belmondo smile, and every foreign disaster with calm. Thank heavens France is here to help!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 10, 2010
Director Michel Hazanavicius loves his sublimely naive bigot, and so do we
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 7, 2010
Mr. Dujardin, a skilled comedian, deftly embodies the spy's combination of cluelessness and condescension, but it's an act that eventually wears thin.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 7, 2010
I don't know about you, but I look to French films for stylish love stories and potent social dramas. I definitely don't look to Gallic movies for slapstick comedy, a genre at which the French are especially bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 7, 2010
A very funny French comedy of a variety that usually doesn't make its way here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 6, 2010
I don't know that we actually need Agent OSS 117, but the world is a slightly better place with him around. And the film itself is a harmless trifle -- make that truffle, chocolate of course.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 6, 2010
In fitful bursts, Lost In Rio reaches further than its predecessor, delving into a loopy absurdism.
Read More | Original Score: B-
May 5, 2010
This is like a subpar Naked Gun feature cooked up by Eisenstein and Godard during a drug-addled lost weekend. Where's Leslie Nielsen when you need him?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 15, 2010
It's the grooving to composer Ludovic Bource's fab xylophone beats and Dujardin's hyena laugh and heroic self-regard you'll remember.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5