Otto; or Up with Dead People - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Otto; or Up with Dead People Reviews

Page 1 of 9
½ May 11, 2015
LaBruce devotees will be tickled pink; others will be perplexed and/or disgusted.
½ October 15, 2013
One of the most brilliant, daring, inventive and fresh movie's I've seen a very long time !Visually marvelous, top plot, great actors ... this queer, dramatic, bloody yet touching film has become one of my all time favorites, no matter how stupid or disturbing it may seem !Awesome ! You've never seen anything quite like this !
January 21, 2013
Per gli amanti dei film indipendenti e fuori dagli schemi, ma solo per veri estimatori. Il film e girato male con scene, talmente grottesche e esilaranti che spesso ti trovi sul punto di chiudere tutto ma non ce la fai! Bruce Labruce Ť un regista fotografo candese appassionato di pornografia gay.
½ January 8, 2013
Absolutely horrid. I'm not a fan of Bruce La Bruce.
November 18, 2012
Lol well first read the blurb above. This is a brilliant film. It has a lot of room for improvement. It is excellently done as far as telling the story. It is funny tale. Now granted its not a movie for every. But those of you who enjoy a funny Gay movie then you will enjoy it. Yes I own it. But do I suggest it for you if you are gay and like zombie movies then you'll like this.
October 19, 2012
a strange and defiantly offensive zombie flick that i thoroughly enjoyed.
August 18, 2012
Sounds interesting. I can't believe I missed it in my zombie movie marathon.
February 6, 2012
It took me four tries to watch this, and I finally got the hang of it. It is an utter piece of trash film, intentiionally, but at moments lovely to look at. Bruce la Bruce's political agenda is laughable, but only because he is a filmmaker.
Super Reviewer
½ October 17, 2011
This film does a terrific job at eliminating audience members - weeding out the weak. Do not watch this film if you can't handle: gratuitous gore of the intestine eating sort, explicit gay sex (between zombies using fresh improvised gashes as sexual orifices), frequent cross-cutting of "reality" and "film", and dedicating major segments of the film to an art house indie director criticizing art house and non-mainstream film.

But if you're a weirdo like me and think all of that sounds like a hella good time, you will or will not be disappointed ;)

Some things that are truly outstanding here: the director character's lover is constantly encapsulated in a bubble of silent film; the lengths to which this director goes to be "avant garde" and the heights to which those attempts accidentally succeed and the hilarious depths to which they intentionally fail. Otto, the main zombie character, is constantly battling for a sense of identity, and his story juxtaposed and interweaving with this director's vision (Up With Dead People is the title of her film) makes the titling very apt (which the title itself is a wink-wink nudge-nudge satirical jab at fringe cinema).

Ultimately, this is not so much a film about zombies as it is a film about film; the zombie aspect is merely used as fuel for probing the subject of identity in both the personal and social arena.

Hot Gay Sex notes: for those looking to avoid poorly done zombie sex and see hardcore human/human (in appearance) gay male sex in the context of narrative feature, around 1:20:00 is the best example; beyond that you're on your own and in for some zombie/zombie, zombie/human combos
½ October 16, 2011
This film is so sick!
June 11, 2011
‚??I was a zombie with an identity crisis.‚?? Otto is zombie sexploitation with a running existentialist philosophical commentary. It's the most human zombie film I‚??ve seen and perhaps the final word on originality in the genre, with the mainstream currently so saturated with the living dead.
½ April 11, 2011
I really loved this film! Fair warning to anyone who may be squeamish to scenes of gay men having sex. Jey did a wonderful job portraying a zombie who was trying to find his place and remember his past life.
½ April 10, 2011
Gory and gratuitously violent this movie has some of my favorite qualities. I'm surprised it took me so long to see it.
½ March 9, 2011
So yeah this film was a lot more graphic then I thought it was going to be. It was interesting, but I was hoping for a little more with it.
March 3, 2011
So glad I gave this movie a second try. I love it. Young zombie named Otto comes out of grave one day having no idea where he came from or what he is supposed to do now that he is dead.
Roams the city and trys to figure out his past. Meets with a film-maker.......
½ January 2, 2011
im confused. i dont want to see it again.made me re-think movie production in contemporary society.i guess it would be post post modern.i liked it and i didnt like it. p.s dont see it
November 7, 2010
Esperaba un poco más, pero no me desagradó,es la segunda que veo de Bruce la Bruce, y creo que es un director medio excà (C)ntrico y no del gusto de muchos, pero con cosillas interesantes.
½ October 19, 2010
Official acquired taste. (Looks at popcorn and tomato meters) Something about this film is just hard to dislike, whether it be the homo gorno, or the new genre it opens up to imitate. It's an ineffable experience, quite heavy on the indie, art and romantic bleakness. If you're just not into experimental or taboo material, steer clear.
September 27, 2010
La historia de Otto termina siendo "tierna" pero siempre dentro del mundo de Bruce LaBruce el discurso es el mismo solo que en un contexto digamos que diferente.
½ September 15, 2010
Gay zombie anarchy! Not as great as it sounds, but daft, watchable. Sorta.
Page 1 of 9