Our Brand Is Crisis - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Brand Is Crisis Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
March 1, 2006
Boynton isn't interested in telling a story, only in the atmosphere of political consultancy. But we already knew this kind of thing happens in American politics. Why shouldn't Bolivia be entitled to sophisticated polling advice?
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
March 3, 2006
Gani is certainly no hero and his American strategists come off as the worst sort of interlopers.
| Original Score: 2/4
Bill White
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
August 17, 2006
Purporting to expose the role of American public-relations companies in foreign political campaigns, Our Brand Is Crisis is never more than a dull and confused film about Bolivia's 2003 presidential election.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
April 13, 2006
Rachel Boynton's painfully timely film is actually a full-court tragedy -- the sorry tale of a battle won and a war lost.
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
July 27, 2006
It's tough not to root for them to succeed. That's a testament to Boynton's skill with the narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
April 13, 2006
It takes awhile to get to its point, but it has one.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Chris Barsanti
Filmcritic.com
March 1, 2006
What the film ably shows is how a band of Washington consultants can contribute to bloodshed and near societal collapse in a Third World nation whose politics can't be reduced to the same Beltway template now being exported around the world.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
March 30, 2006
Political junkies will love this movie.
David Cornelius
DVDTalk.com
September 20, 2006
Crisis is angry and intrigued at the same time, and so are we.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
June 17, 2006
Boynton's film explores the inescapable link between American democracy and capitalism and why what seems to work for us can be so disastrous elsewhere.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
July 2, 2006
Our Brand Is Crisis scares me...
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
February 28, 2006
Exotic location notwithstanding, Rachel Boynton's riveting political documentary Our Brand Is Crisis is a sequel to the Clinton-era campaign vérité, The War Room.
Top Critic
Gene Seymour
Newsday
March 1, 2006
Boynton maintains a relatively level tone and clear eye and, thus, allows her audience to ask some hard questions about whether our democratic process translates all that clearly in other countries.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
July 1, 2006
It's a galling and provocative experience to viewers of any political persuasion, and a reminder to the left of how easily idealism can run amok.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
July 27, 2006
Politics and mass communication are the volatile subjects of Rachel Boynton's information-packed documentary.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ronnie Scheib
Variety
March 1, 2006
Our Brand Is Crisis proves as entertaining as the earlier The War Room, which also featured Carville, but is more somber.
Top Critic
Laura Kern
New York Times
March 1, 2006
Rachel Boynton's momentous documentary chronicles the election-strategizing process in scrupulous detail.
| Original Score: 4/5
Ron Wilkinson
Monsters and Critics
March 1, 2006
Boynton takes up deep inside politics Madison Avenue style as green stamps fail to establish a lasting government in Bolivia.
| Original Score: 7/10
Timothy Knight
Reel.com
March 3, 2006
Without ever getting strident or sanctimonious, the film vividly demonstrates the potential hazards of trying to export American-style democracy overseas.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Jessica Letkemann
Premiere Magazine
March 14, 2006
This unlikely pairing of relentless U.S. pollsters and a Bolivian election is a fascinating glimpse of the Americanized marketing of international politics (and vice versa).
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 2