Our Brand Is Crisis - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Brand Is Crisis Reviews

November 24, 2006
The movie is both frightening and ironically funny, sometimes both.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 18, 2006
Subject matter dominates over filmmaking craft in Rachel Boynton's somewhat sloppy but otherwise riveting documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 27, 2006
Politics and mass communication are the volatile subjects of Rachel Boynton's information-packed documentary.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 1, 2006
It's a galling and provocative experience to viewers of any political persuasion, and a reminder to the left of how easily idealism can run amok.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 13, 2006
Unlikely as it sounds, a documentary that details with jaw-dropping candor how contemporary political campaigning works at the highest levels of government is set not in this country but in the far-off reaches of Bolivia.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 13, 2006
Rachel Boynton's painfully timely film is actually a full-court tragedy -- the sorry tale of a battle won and a war lost.
March 30, 2006
Political junkies will love this movie.
March 14, 2006
Ultimately provides a vivid illustration of the not-so-hopeful future of international politics.
March 3, 2006
Gani is certainly no hero and his American strategists come off as the worst sort of interlopers.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 1, 2006
What's eye-opening, as well as depressing, is that the film reveals how even the politics of a nation's life and death can now be reduced to a technocratic shell game.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 1, 2006
Only a naïf would be surprised by Our Brand Is Crisis, but only a nihilist would not be alarmed by the endless reverberations of Boynton's case study-and by its suggestion of a systemic separation of modern politics and the national good.
March 1, 2006
Our Brand Is Crisis proves as entertaining as the earlier The War Room, which also featured Carville, but is more somber.
March 1, 2006
Boynton maintains a relatively level tone and clear eye and, thus, allows her audience to ask some hard questions about whether our democratic process translates all that clearly in other countries.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 1, 2006
Boynton isn't interested in telling a story, only in the atmosphere of political consultancy. But we already knew this kind of thing happens in American politics. Why shouldn't Bolivia be entitled to sophisticated polling advice?
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 1, 2006
Rachel Boynton's momentous documentary chronicles the election-strategizing process in scrupulous detail.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
February 28, 2006
Our Brand Is Crisis' queasy power comes from its understanding of how elections have tangible real-world consequences that are measured in deaths and riots as wells as polls and ballots.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 28, 2006
Among other things, Our Brand Is Crisis is about the failure of good intentions -- a potent American theme at the moment.
February 28, 2006
Exotic location notwithstanding, Rachel Boynton's riveting political documentary Our Brand Is Crisis is a sequel to the Clinton-era campaign vérité, The War Room.