Our Family Wedding - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Family Wedding Reviews

Page 2 of 5
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
March 15, 2010
The cast of this film deserves a better movie but then so does the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
At the Movies
March 15, 2010
I didn't buy a word of this thing and I didn't laugh enough.
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
At the Movies
March 15, 2010
Alternately flat and overwrought.
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald
March 13, 2010
One act into Our Family Wedding and the two soon-to-be-marrieds start thinking eloping is a better idea. They should have.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Sara Maria Vizcarrondo
Boxoffice Magazine
March 13, 2010
It's not toppling Father of the Bride for status in the canon of wedding movies but for a film that gently negotiates the tensions of family and race, it's not too bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Kam Williams
Sly Fox
March 13, 2010
I just saved you a lot of aggravation. You owe me.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
March 12, 2010
You'll wish Lucia and Marcus had eloped and taken you with them.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
S. Jhoanna Robledo
Common Sense Media
March 12, 2010
Conventional wedding comedy is an 'I do' for families.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Kevin Williamson
Jam! Movies
March 12, 2010
Only the cast -- led by Whitaker and Mencia as they begrudgingly bond between squabbling sessions -- makes it bearable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Robert W. Butler
Kansas City Star
March 12, 2010
Here's all you need to know about Our Family Wedding: It thinks that feeding a goat an entire bottle of Viagra is the height of hilarity.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
March 12, 2010
To anyone who has ever sparked up a TV set, let alone entered a movie theatre, all this is perfectly evident in the first five minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
March 12, 2010
Alternately rancid and ridiculous, strident and sickly sweet, Our Family Wedding offers plenty that's old, borrowed and blue; it's the something new that's missing.
| Original Score: 1/5
Phil Villarreal
OK! Magazine
March 12, 2010
Although I had a giddy good time watching the movie, I'm pretty sure I hated it; but I so enjoyed hating it that I pretty much loved it. The bottom line is laughter doesn't lie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
March 12, 2010
[A] slick, slapsticky, forgettable comedy, a cool-jazz riff on upper-middle-class American families sorting through misconceptions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
March 12, 2010
Our Family Wedding plays out like an elongated Disney TV episode, going precisely where you expect every inch of the way.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
March 12, 2010
A modest culture-clash ensemble comedy that distinguishes itself from the formula pack by treating its characters with respect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune
March 12, 2010
Despite being as predictable and derivative as a wedding singer's playlist, there's just enough sweetness, and just enough smiles, to keep it from falling flat.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
March 12, 2010
Blacks and Latinos finally star together in a major movie as wretched as anything whites have done
Full Review | Original Score: F
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
March 12, 2010
Misguided and embarrassing for all those involved; could have easily been a segment in the atrocious Valentine's Day
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Top Critic
John Anderson
Washington Post
March 12, 2010
The only bouquet anyone's going to catch from this contrivance has the aroma of stale comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 2 of 5