Our Family Wedding - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Family Wedding Reviews

Page 1 of 5
October 1, 2012
It may be clichéd and unoriginal, but it accomplished something that most other movies in the genre failed to do: It made me, and a theater full of people, laugh quite a bit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 13, 2010
It's not toppling Father of the Bride for status in the canon of wedding movies but for a film that gently negotiates the tensions of family and race, it's not too bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 12, 2010
Although I had a giddy good time watching the movie, I'm pretty sure I hated it; but I so enjoyed hating it that I pretty much loved it. The bottom line is laughter doesn't lie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 12, 2010
[A] slick, slapsticky, forgettable comedy, a cool-jazz riff on upper-middle-class American families sorting through misconceptions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 12, 2010
A modest culture-clash ensemble comedy that distinguishes itself from the formula pack by treating its characters with respect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 12, 2010
Ferrera and Gross are the most appealing pair I've seen in awhile; their calm confidence is a welcome antidote to the unrealistic couples who've been cluttering our screens way too long.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 12, 2010
Ferrara, as the would-be bride, and King, as her sensible in-law, brighten the movie every time they appear. Whitaker and Mencia are also appealing, as is Diana Maria-Riva as Ferrara's mom.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 12, 2010
It's a testament to the cast that the entire enterprise is more entertaining than it has a right to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 12, 2010
The likable cast keep things watchable, particularly handsome Gross, who is surely destined for bigger things, and Ferrera, who's still as sweetly unaffected on-screen as she was back in Real Women Have Curves.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 12, 2010
Our Family Wedding is another Hollywood fast-food sandwich. But instead of two squirts of ketchup someone actually took the time to lay some fresh tomato on that greasy bun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 11, 2010
At the heart of the story, of course, is the always delightful Ferrera as the bride-to-be caught upsetting either the man she loves or the family she also loves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 16, 2017
The fact that it's two minorities who are slinging racially charged comments at each other doesn't make it acceptable or funny.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 31, 2012
Too many scenes are forced and seem out of place.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
April 8, 2012
Good intentions and a good cast do not necessarily a good film make.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: D
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
April 25, 2011
Except for Mencia, who should never be allowed near a camera again, Our Family Wedding isn't particularly awful, but that's about the best that can be said about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
April 4, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
June 25, 2010
This inexplicable Hollywood movie contains a shocking collection of racial stereotypes...
June 24, 2010
Lacks a single legitimate laugh, despite engineering the humping of Forest Whitaker's leg by a priapic goat. Don't ask.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Page 1 of 5