Our Family Wedding - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Family Wedding Reviews

November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
March 15, 2010
I didn't buy a word of this thing and I didn't laugh enough.
March 15, 2010
Alternately flat and overwrought.
March 12, 2010
To anyone who has ever sparked up a TV set, let alone entered a movie theatre, all this is perfectly evident in the first five minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 12, 2010
Alternately rancid and ridiculous, strident and sickly sweet, Our Family Wedding offers plenty that's old, borrowed and blue; it's the something new that's missing.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
March 12, 2010
[A] slick, slapsticky, forgettable comedy, a cool-jazz riff on upper-middle-class American families sorting through misconceptions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 12, 2010
Our Family Wedding plays out like an elongated Disney TV episode, going precisely where you expect every inch of the way.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
March 12, 2010
The only bouquet anyone's going to catch from this contrivance has the aroma of stale comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 12, 2010
A cringeworthy, unfunny example of a culture-clash romantic comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 12, 2010
Rick Famuyiwa's movie repeatedly trips and falls on its way up the aisle.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 12, 2010
Ferrera and Gross are the most appealing pair I've seen in awhile; their calm confidence is a welcome antidote to the unrealistic couples who've been cluttering our screens way too long.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 12, 2010
Instead of invitations, they should be sending out apologies for Our Family Wedding, a cake-and-kisses comedy that has disaster written all over it and not for the right reasons.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 12, 2010
The likable cast keep things watchable, particularly handsome Gross, who is surely destined for bigger things, and Ferrera, who's still as sweetly unaffected on-screen as she was back in Real Women Have Curves.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 12, 2010
This mixed-race page from the Meet the Parents book is a tasteless exercise in familiarity and contempt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 12, 2010
Wait till the DVD release.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 12, 2010
Our Family Wedding is another Hollywood fast-food sandwich. But instead of two squirts of ketchup someone actually took the time to lay some fresh tomato on that greasy bun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 11, 2010
Most comedies would be content to mine the comic possibilities of Viagra only once, especially if they're going to devote considerable screen time to the dramatic acting of Carlos Mencia.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
March 11, 2010
They're all generally nice people, so there's no reason why they wouldn't get along, except for reasons forced.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 11, 2010
Vacuous and contrived.
March 11, 2010
You almost miss the laugh track. Difficult problems are sidestepped, arguments are overacted, and there are three food fights involving wedding cakes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 10, 2010
Be prepared to swallow a lot of empty-calorie jokes in which blacks and Latinos insult and misunderstand one another in a spirit of vigorous buffoonery before dancing together in maniacal harmony during the never-in-doubt wedding-scene finale.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 10, 2010
A broad and formulaic culture-clash comedy built on fill-in-the-blank wedding comedy clichés.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 9, 2010
An unconvincingly broad culture-clash comedy whose Latino and African-American ensemble might've made for a progressive film if director and co-writer Rick Famuyiwa hadn't pandered to the lowest common denominator.
March 9, 2010
Famuyiwa has made a mostly charming movie despite its cliche milieu.
March 8, 2010
This broad ethnic farce serves up a full-on culture collision, but -- thanks to a handful of diverting performers -- stops just short of becoming a train wreck.
March 4, 2010
The culture clash is muy muted in this alternately sweet and dumb comedy.