Our Idiot Brother - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Idiot Brother Reviews

Page 1 of 7
August 5, 2015
If plot-wise there isn't all that much new being cooked up here, the invaluable, endlessly creative Rudd's interactions with a gallery of terrific actors carry the day.
July 8, 2014
... a film that largely earns its laughs honestly.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
February 28, 2013
Our Idiot Brother is an enjoyable comedy thanks to its strong supporting cast and a terrific central performance from Paul Rudd.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 10, 2013
Rudd can play the innocent as well as the snarky cynic, and that serves him wonderfully here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 10, 2012
'Cute' is probably not the word one would expect to attach to a film with this title, but there is no more apropos term for its gentle comic charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 28, 2011
"Our Idiot Brother" goes down in a good way, with an infectious positivity.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 8, 2011
A sweet and at times raunchy comedy, Our Idiot Brother features Paul Rudd at his likeable best in his portrayal of a liberal Jesus figure stuck in a rut.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 3, 2011
What I liked about the film is that there is a very good cast. I think all the women in the film are terrific actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 3, 2011
Charming and at times very funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 3, 2011
While no one would hail Our Idiot Brother as the most accessible movie comedy of 2011, it is definitely the one most comfortable in its skin.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 3, 2011
Surrounded by caricatures and a bit of schmaltz, this comedy is bolstered by a charismatic lead performance from Paul Rudd.
November 3, 2011
Light and funny, Our Idiot Brother is an easy watch thanks to well-shaped, realistic characters and an entertaining story with moral fibre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 2, 2011
There is nothing mean about the humour nor does it rely on creating embarrassment to elicit the uncomfortable laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 29, 2011
The film has a two-tone sensibility, mixing rumpus fun with attempts at meaningful observational drama, and it's a bit simplistic, but has enough entertainment value to pass muster. Just.
September 16, 2011
Our Idiot Brother is not a gross-out comedy. Rather, it's a sensitive, soulful movie more focused on moments of human fallibility than on farting.
September 6, 2011
The film never gives any sense of clarity regarding how its pieces fit together, leaving us to wonder who the true idiots are.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 3, 2011
While the movie coulda/shoulda been longer than its scant 90 minutes, it's actually surprising just how much memorable material is packed into the piece.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 3, 2011
Rudd brings color and dimension to a borderline-simpleton schlub who could have easily become a one-note cliché.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 2, 2011
The title sibling almost makes up for the shortcomings of the story, but Our Idiot Brother falls short of brilliant.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 2, 2011
Somehow the script manages to eke out enough new jokes and sweet moments to help me hang in there with Ned, and Elizabeth Banks makes a deliciously despicable Miranda.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 7