Our Kind of Traitor - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Kind of Traitor Reviews

Page 1 of 7
April 3, 2019
Our Kind of Traitor is a serviceable and relevant film with little to distinguish it above its compatriots.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 23, 2018
Rattles along, but it is one of those tales which is more credible on the page than the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 26, 2017
MacGregor and Harris aren't ideally cast as "average" folk, but Skarsgård owns the film in a performance that couldn't be more different from his captivating work in the recent series River.
September 19, 2017
What saves the entire thing is Skarsgard, who steals the spotlight by striking the balance between a ruthless figure and a loving family man.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 15, 2017
"Our Kind of Traitor," Hossein Amini's brilliant adaptation of John LeCarré's novel directed by Susanna White, is breathtaking in every sense of the word from first moment to last.
August 29, 2017
Therefore, while this isn't the best of John le Carré and the good/bad differentiation is heavy handed, Our Kind of Traitor invites some thought-provoking afterthoughts.
August 24, 2017
John le Carré's source book makes for a ripping great story, in which international intrigue is shot through with a surprising amount of heart.
July 31, 2017
The confluence of dirty Russian money and politics is pertinent in light of the Trump scandal, and makes for the best part of the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 31, 2016
It's an intriguing and very timely story, even if the tension and credibility aren't quite up to the standards of 2011's brilliant Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 26, 2016
In one of the better adaptations of spymaster John Le Carre's work, veteran British director Susanna White (Nanny McPhee; Generation Kill; Boardwalk Empire) does a dutiful job delivering a taut espionage thriller soundly grounded in human drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 22, 2016
Not a memorable 'thriller', but is effective and reasonably charismatic. [Full review in Spanish]
December 12, 2016
Our Kind of Traitor reminded me of the kind of movie pleasures I'd lately been missing, namely characters who find themselves in situations they couldn't possibly have anticipated and which prove morally taxing.
December 9, 2016
A simple story in which one can appreciate more sincerity, capacity for criticism and subversion than in the last films of a lethargic Oliver Stone. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 8, 2016
Our Kind of Traitor is a competent, solid alternative to the less-than-appealing offerings out now.
December 5, 2016
The film provides nothing particularly fresh, but provides it well.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 28, 2016
Susanna White, a British TV veteran, matches the smaller scope with quiet, low-key direction, a spare canvas, and a palette of somber colors that leans toward the nocturnal.
October 22, 2016
Like most movies sourced from le Carré, this one heavily favors dialogue over action -- a welcome respite from generic he-man features.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 10, 2016
A modest film that approaches subjects like courage, sacrifice and commitment to our ideals. [Full review in Spanish]
October 6, 2016
A worthy example of this psychological thriller that has Hitchcock's cinema an unavoidable reference. [Full review in Spanish]
October 5, 2016
A film full of elegance, with photography by Anthony Dod Mantle (Oscar winner for Slumdog Millionaire) as one of its main allies and an excellent cast. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 7